How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › SEON vs Unit21
Comparison · 2026 edition

SEON vs Unit21: fraud prevention compared 2026.

SEON and Unit21 side by side in the Fraud Prevention Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.9 / 5SEON
2.9 / 5Unit21
SEONHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Fraud Prevention Index, SEON scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (77 out of 100) against 2.9 (57), ranking 1 and 3 of 13. SEON also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSEONUnit21
Score out of 53.92.9
Score out of 1007757
Overall rank1 of 133 of 13
For banks and lenders (out of 100)76, rank 172, rank 2
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)77, rank 155, rank 4
For fintechs and marketplaces (out of 100)78, rank 143, rank 7
TypeFraud prevention and AML platformFraud and AML operations platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSEONUnit21
Fraud coverage4/5
Payment fraud, account takeover, new account fraud and chargebacks published; scams not published as a product.
3/5
Payment fraud, account takeover and new account fraud published; scams and chargebacks not published.
Published pricing4/5
Monthly price with included checks published for the starter plan; premium not priced.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Detection signals4/5
Device, behaviour and network signals with explained scores; data shared across clients not stated.
5/5
Device, behaviour, shared consortium data and explainable decisions published.
Rules and case management3/5
Client rules, thresholds and case management published; backtesting and regulatory reporting not stated.
4/5
Configurable rules, case management and regulatory filing published; backtesting not stated.
Integration4/5
API, free trial, platform integrations and a stated go-live time; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Security and clients4/5
ISO 27001, SOC 2 without type and PCI DSS, with a named regulated bank.
4/5
SOC 2 Type II with regulated clients shown as logos; ISO 27001 not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Fraud Prevention Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactSEONUnit21
CoverageUse cases include Account Takeover, Transaction Monitoring, Chargeback Management, Mule Account Detection and New Account Fraud; "Stop bonus abuse, synthetic identity fraud, account takeovers and chargebacks".Fraud blocked "across RTP, FedNow, ACH, cards, crypto"; device risk score to stop "bots, account farms, and mule networks"; onboarding risk. Scams and chargebacks not published as products.
PricingStarter: "$699 per month" with "2,500 fraud checks / month", 10 users and 50 custom rules. Premium: "Custom pricing". Free trial on request.Not published on the pages read.
Signals"1,100+ first-party data signals"; device intelligence and behavioural analysis "that spots screen sharing, remote access tools"; network analysis across shared devices, IPs and emails; "See which of the 1,100+ signals drove the AI insights score".Device Risk Score using "deep device and behavioral signals"; consortium "covering 80M+ adults in the U.S."; "explainable, fully auditable decisions".
Operations"Fine-tune risk thresholds and build highly granular rules"; AI-written rules; case management that "auto-assigns alerts, summarizes findings and maintains a complete audit trail"."Configurable rules, behavioral models, and AI agents"; Case Management; AI agents "pre-populate SARs, STRs, CTRs, 314(a), and goAML filings".
IntegrationAPI-first with documentation and GitHub; "averaging 14 days from implementation to impact"; Shopify and AWS integrations; free trial.Not detailed on the pages read.
Security and clientsCompliance badges: "GDPR, ISO 27001 Certified, CCPA, SOC 2, PCI DSS Compliant" (SOC 2 type not stated). Case study with tbi Bank; logos include Revolut and BNP Paribas.SOC 2 Type I and Type II attested by Armanino; GDPR and CCPA compliant. Logos include Chime, Brex, Crypto.com, Sunrise Banks and Greendot Bank.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by SEON: security and clients, fraud coverage, detection signals, rules and case management and integration.

Not published or not stated by Unit21: coverage, pricing, rules and case management and security and clients.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: seon.io, seon.io/pricing, seon.io/legal-and-security; and unit21.ai, unit21.ai/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

SEON
Leader 2026Best for banks and lenders 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for fintechs and marketplaces 2026
Unit21
Leader 2026Top rated for detection signals 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

SEON suits

Payment and fintech firms wanting a published monthly price and fast set-up.

  • Fraud coverage (4/5). Payment fraud, account takeover, new account fraud and chargebacks published; scams not published as a product.
  • Published pricing (4/5). Monthly price with included checks published for the starter plan; premium not priced.
  • Detection signals (4/5). Device, behaviour and network signals with explained scores; data shared across clients not stated.
  • Integration (4/5). API, free trial, platform integrations and a stated go-live time; SDKs not confirmed on the pages read.
  • Security and clients (4/5). ISO 27001, SOC 2 without type and PCI DSS, with a named regulated bank.

SEON full profile

Unit21 suits

US banks and fintechs needing fraud rules, investigations and SAR filing together.

  • Detection signals (5/5). Device, behaviour, shared consortium data and explainable decisions published.

Unit21 full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.