How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Fingerprint vs Unit21
Comparison · 2026 edition

Fingerprint vs Unit21: fraud prevention compared 2026.

Fingerprint and Unit21 side by side in the Fraud Prevention Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Fingerprint
2.9 / 5Unit21
Unit21Higher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Fraud Prevention Index, Unit21 scores higher overall: 2.9 out of 5 (57 out of 100) against 2.8 (56), ranking 3 and 4 of 13. Fingerprint scores higher for payment and e-money firms and fintechs and marketplaces; Unit21 scores higher for banks and lenders.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreFingerprintUnit21
Score out of 52.82.9
Score out of 1005657
Overall rank4 of 133 of 13
For banks and lenders (out of 100)46, rank 1072, rank 2
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)56, rank 355, rank 4
For fintechs and marketplaces (out of 100)65, rank 243, rank 7
TypeDevice intelligence for fraud preventionFraud and AML operations platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionFingerprintUnit21
Fraud coverage3/5
New account fraud, account takeover and payment fraud published; scams and chargebacks not published.
3/5
Payment fraud, account takeover and new account fraud published; scams and chargebacks not published.
Published pricing5/5
Monthly prices with included calls and overage price published.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Detection signals2/5
Device intelligence published; behavioural biometrics, shared data and explanations not published.
5/5
Device, behaviour, shared consortium data and explainable decisions published.
Rules and case management0/5
Not published.
4/5
Configurable rules, case management and regulatory filing published; backtesting not stated.
Integration4/5
API, SDKs, free sign-up and trial published; no go-live time.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Security and clients3/5
ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II; no named regulated clients.
4/5
SOC 2 Type II with regulated clients shown as logos; ISO 27001 not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Fraud Prevention Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactFingerprintUnit21
CoverageUse cases: "New Account Fraud", "Account Takeover", "Payment Fraud", "SMS Fraud" and bot detection.Fraud blocked "across RTP, FedNow, ACH, cards, crypto"; device risk score to stop "bots, account farms, and mule networks"; onboarding risk. Scams and chargebacks not published as products.
PricingFree: "$0 /month", "up to 1,000 API calls per month". Pro Plus: "$99 per month which includes 20,000 API requests for web and iOS, as well as 500,000 API requests for Android"; "$4 per 1,000 additional API calls".Not published on the pages read.
SignalsDevice identification "even when VPN, incognito mode, or a tampered browser or device is used"; Smart Signals with "100+" attributes.Device Risk Score using "deep device and behavioral signals"; consortium "covering 80M+ adults in the U.S."; "explainable, fully auditable decisions".
OperationsNot published; Fingerprint supplies signals to the client's own rules."Configurable rules, behavioral models, and AI agents"; Case Management; AI agents "pre-populate SARs, STRs, CTRs, 314(a), and goAML filings".
IntegrationSDKs and libraries, documentation, GitHub; free sign-up; "14 day free trial with unlimited API calls".Not detailed on the pages read.
Security and clients"ISO 27001 certified" and "SOC 2 Type II compliant"; data in AWS data centres. "Trusted by 6000+ companies"; none named on the pages read.SOC 2 Type I and Type II attested by Armanino; GDPR and CCPA compliant. Logos include Chime, Brex, Crypto.com, Sunrise Banks and Greendot Bank.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Fingerprint: operations, fraud coverage, detection signals and security and clients.

Not published or not stated by Unit21: coverage, pricing, rules and case management and security and clients.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: fingerprint.com, fingerprint.com/pricing, fingerprint.com/security; and unit21.ai, unit21.ai/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Fingerprint
Top rated for published pricing 2026
Unit21
Leader 2026Top rated for detection signals 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Fingerprint suits

Fintechs wanting device recognition with clear self-serve prices.

  • Published pricing (5/5). Monthly prices with included calls and overage price published.

Fingerprint full profile

Unit21 suits

US banks and fintechs needing fraud rules, investigations and SAR filing together.

  • Detection signals (5/5). Device, behaviour, shared consortium data and explainable decisions published.

Unit21 full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.