How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Defacto vs Earlypay
Comparison · 2026 edition

Defacto vs Earlypay: invoice finance compared 2026.

Defacto and Earlypay side by side in the Invoice Finance and Factoring Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Defacto
2.6 / 5Earlypay
DefactoHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Invoice Finance and Factoring Index, Defacto scores higher overall: 2.8 out of 5 (56 out of 100) against 2.6 (52), ranking 1 and 3 of 10. Defacto scores higher for payment and fintech firms; Earlypay scores higher for small B2B suppliers and mid-sized firms.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreDefactoEarlypay
Score out of 52.82.6
Score out of 1005652
Overall rank1 of 103 of 10
For small B2B suppliers (out of 100)53, rank 354, rank 2
For mid-sized firms (out of 100)54, rank 355, rank 1
For payment and fintech firms (out of 100)60, rank 146, rank 3
TypeInvoice financing platformInvoice finance provider

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionDefactoEarlypay
Product range2/5
Single-invoice finance and a confidential option published; factoring and bad debt protection not published.
3/5
Factoring, discounting and debtor protection published; single-invoice and confidential options not published.
Published pricing0/5
Pricing method and absent fees described; no rate published.
3/5
Yearly interest rate range published; other fees not quantified.
Advance and speed3/5
Instant transfer and decision times published; advance percentage not published.
4/5
Advance rate, approval time and funding time published, with conflicting advance figures.
Published eligibility3/5
Eligible countries and invoice rules published; no facility size published.
5/5
Facility range, Australian eligibility and invoice age rule published.
Contract flexibility5/5
No framework contract, no minimum portfolio and no personal guarantee all stated.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Regulatory standing4/5
ACPR authorisation named without a register number, with ISO 27001:2022.
1/5
Industry association membership shown only; no licence or certification.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Invoice Finance and Factoring Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactDefactoEarlypay
ProductAccounts receivable financing: "Select the invoice you want to advance"; clients are not notified and pay "to your regular bank account".Not listed in this index
Pricing"Daily pro-rata pricing, automatically calculated based on duration and profile"; "No arrangement fee, no early repayment penalty"; rate "displayed before you confirm"."interest rate charged on Invoice Financing balances ranges between 7.99% and 13.95% per annum"; drawdown or administration fees may apply, amounts not listed.
SpeedEligibility analysis in "27 seconds"; "99.11% of transfers are instant"; repayment "Between 3 and 120 days" (FAQ: up to 6 months).Not listed in this index
EligibilityCompany based in France; invoices in euros; customer receivables financed in France, Spain, Germany, Belgium or the Netherlands; "Invoices issued to B2B clients, validated and not yet due.""Lines of credit of $100K - $10 million" (FAQ: "from $50k"); ABN or ACN and invoices to other Australian businesses; invoices not funded "more than 90 days past the issue date".
Flexibility"No framework contract, no global portfolio assignment"; personal guarantee: "No. Defacto assesses eligibility based on your accounting and banking data."Not listed in this index
Regulatory standing"Defacto is a financing company licensed by the ACPR"; ISO 27001:2022 issued by Accorp Partners Cert Inc.; hosted on AWS.AFIA member logo in the footer; no licence or security certification stated.
ProductsNot listed in this indexInvoice Factoring and Invoice Discounting, with an optional Debtor Protection add-on; also Equipment, Trade and Payroll Finance.
Advance and speedNot listed in this index"up to 85% of your outstanding invoice value" (FAQ: 80%, sometimes 90%); response "within 24 hours" with Xero or MYOB AccountRight; funds within 24 hours of approval.
SecurityNot listed in this index"the primary security is the invoices themselves"; no real estate security required.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Defacto: product range, published pricing, advance and speed, published eligibility and contract flexibility.

Not published or not stated by Earlypay: pricing, regulatory standing, product range and contract flexibility.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: getdefacto.com/platform/…, getdefacto.com/security, help.getdefacto.com/en/articles/…; and earlypay.com.au/invoice-finance.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Defacto
Leader 2026Best for payment and fintech firms 2026Top rated for contract flexibility 2026
Earlypay
Leader 2026Best for mid-sized firms 2026Top rated for published eligibility 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Defacto suits

French firms wanting confidential single-invoice funding with no contract.

  • Contract flexibility (5/5). No framework contract, no minimum portfolio and no personal guarantee all stated.

Defacto full profile

Earlypay suits

Australian firms, including start-ups, wanting a published rate range.

  • Published eligibility (5/5). Facility range, Australian eligibility and invoice age rule published.

Earlypay full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.