WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Airwallex and Weavr side by side in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index, Airwallex scores higher overall: 3.8 out of 5 (75 out of 100) against 3.2 (65), ranking 3 and 4 of 11. Airwallex also scores higher in every segment.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Airwallex | Weavr |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.8 | 3.2 |
| Score out of 100 | 75 | 65 |
| Overall rank | 3 of 11 | 4 of 11 |
| For fintechs launching accounts and cards (out of 100) | 76, rank 3 | 61, rank 7 |
| For software platforms embedding finance (out of 100) | 71, rank 2 | 68, rank 4 |
| For regulated payment and e-money firms (out of 100) | 78, rank 3 | 65, rank 6 |
| Type | Global embedded finance platform | Embedded finance platform over a partner e-money firm |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Airwallex | Weavr |
|---|---|---|
| Product range | 5/5 Accounts, cards, payments and credit all published. | 4/5 Accounts, cards and payment rails published; lending not published. |
| Published pricing | 1/5 Platform fees not published; only the business account fee schedule is public. | 3/5 Fixed monthly entry plan price published; usage and compliance charges not published. |
| Licence and deposit protection | 4/5 Own e-money and payment licences with numbers in many countries; US accounts through named partner banks. | 3/5 Named partner e-money firm with regulator and reference; Weavr itself is not the licence holder. |
| Compliance support | 3/5 Airwallex states it handles KYC; transaction monitoring for the programme not described. | 1/5 Fraud monitoring only; KYC and KYB responsibility not described. |
| Integration | 4/5 API, ready-made components and a stated launch time; sandbox not confirmed on the pages read. | 5/5 API, sandbox, embeddable screens and a stated launch time. |
| Markets | 5/5 70+ countries across Asia, Europe and the Americas. | 3/5 UK and EU business clients. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Banking-as-a-Service and Sponsor Banks Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Airwallex | Weavr |
|---|---|---|
| Product range | Accounts "with local bank details in 70+ countries"; branded physical and virtual cards; collections including Direct Debit and batch payouts; "Extend lines of credit to your customers". | Wallet accounts with IBANs; Mastercard debit cards, virtual or physical; SEPA, SWIFT and Faster Payments transfers. Lending not described. |
| Pricing | Platforms "Set bespoke pricing for end customers"; Airwallex's platform fees not published. The US business account fee schedule is published separately. | Launch: "£ 1,947 / € 2,370 per month", a platform licence subscription excluding set-up, product usage and compliance service charges; Scale: "Let's talk". |
| Licence and deposit protection | Airwallex (UK) Ltd FCA e-money institution 900876; AWX Lithuania, UAB e-money institution 88; Airwallex (Singapore) Pte. Ltd. MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200541; UniCard Solution Ltd HKMA SVF0009; Airwallex US, LLC NMLS #1928093 with Lead Bank and Evolve Bank & Trust as partner banks. | EU accounts and cards issued by Paynetics AD, authorised by the Bulgarian National Bank; UK by Paynetics UK, FCA firm reference 942777; client funds held in safeguarding accounts; e-money "not covered by any Deposit Guarantee Scheme". |
| Compliance support | "Airwallex handles global Know Your Customer (KYC) requirements", with collection adjusted to local rules. | Launch needs no "compliance expertise"; compliance service charges billed separately; fraud monitoring included. KYC and KYB not described. |
| Integration | Pre-built components to "Launch in days", or native API integration. | Free sandbox and simulator; API reference; embeddable UI elements in React Native and Flutter; "up and running with your new embedded finance programme in a few weeks". |
| Markets | Accounts in 70+ countries; balances in 20 currencies; cards across 60 countries. | Legal entities in the UK (Weavr Ltd) and the EU (Weavr (Europe) Ltd); Launch for "approved B2B payments use cases in EU and UK". |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Airwallex: pricing, compliance support and integration.
Not published or not stated by Weavr: product range, compliance support and published pricing.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/en-us/…, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and weavr.io/pricing, weavr.io.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Platforms serving business customers in many countries from one integration.
UK and EU business software adding accounts and cards at a fixed monthly price.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.