How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Stripe Capital
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Stripe Capital review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

Financing offered to businesses that take payments through Stripe, as loans from US banks or cash advances from YouLend, repaid as a share of Stripe sales.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
6 of 12Rank, Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index

Short answer.

Stripe Capital scores 2.5 out of 5 (49 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index 2026 and ranks 6 of 12. It is strongest for businesses already processing payments on Stripe in six countries, with 5 out of 5 for published eligibility. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing and limits and speed.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index 2026.

Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index

2.5 / 549 out of 100 · rank 6 of 12
Top rated for published eligibility 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For online and retail brands506 of 12
For software and subscription firms476 of 12
For small businesses and merchants516 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Businesses already processing payments on Stripe in six countries.

  • Published eligibility (5/5). Processing history, volume minimums and six eligible countries published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Flat fee structure described but no fee figures published.
  • Limits and speed (2/5). Funding times published; minimum and maximum amounts not published.
  • Borrower terms (2/5). No early payment fee in the US; personal guarantee required in the UK.

Published facts.

What Stripe Capital publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

Financing offered to businesses that take payments through Stripe, as loans from US banks or cash advances from YouLend, repaid as a share of Stripe sales. It publishes eligibility rules, six countries, funding times and the lenders behind each product, and Stripe holds SOC 2 Type II. It publishes no fee figures or amount limits, and UK directors must give a personal guarantee.

FactWhat the provider publishes
ProductsLoans "issued by Celtic Bank or Lead Bank" and merchant cash advances provided by YouLend; "You can't request a particular financing type."
Pricing"the total amount you pay is your advance amount plus a flat fee"; US financing has no "late fees, early payment fees, or origination fees". No fee figures published.
EligibilityAvailable in AU, CA, DE, FR, GB and US; at least 3 months of processing history; UK: "5,000 GBP minimum per year and an average processing volume of 1,000 GBP for the last 3 months".
SpeedUS: funds "typically in as few as 1-2 business days"; UK: "typically within 1 business day".
Borrower termsUK: "Applicants who are the director and a beneficial owner of the business must provide a personal guarantee"; repaid by "deducting a percentage of your Stripe sales".
Regulatory standingLenders named: Celtic Bank, Lead Bank and YouLend. Stripe: "PCI Service Provider Level 1"; "SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II reports are produced annually".
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Stripe Capital

  • Pricing. No fee figures published.
  • Limits and speed. Minimum and maximum amounts not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: docs.stripe.com/capital/how-stripe-capital-works, docs.stripe.com/capital/eligibility, docs.stripe.com/security.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Product range: 3/5. Two financing types published: bank loans and cash advances.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Flat fee structure described but no fee figures published.
  • Published eligibility: 5/5. Processing history, volume minimums and six eligible countries published.
  • Limits and speed: 2/5. Funding times published; minimum and maximum amounts not published.
  • Borrower terms: 2/5. No early payment fee in the US; personal guarantee required in the UK.
  • Regulatory standing: 4/5. Regulated lending banks named and SOC 2 Type II held; no licence numbers on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Stripe Capital alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Clearco3.41 of 12US online brands with over $100,000 monthly revenue wanting clear borrower terms
iwoca3.12 of 12UK limited companies wanting a representative APR and money within hours
Bluevine3.03 of 12US companies with 12 months' trading wanting a line of credit next to a business account
Liberis2.94 of 12UK merchants wanting a published representative cost and a range of advance sizes
Wayflyer2.65 of 12Online and retail brands in 11 countries wanting a single fixed fee
Lighter Capital2.27 of 12Software and technology firms in the US, Canada and Australia with $200,000 or more recurring revenue
Founderpath2.18 of 12Software firms with $1m to $3m recurring revenue wanting money within a day
Funding Societies1.99 of 12Small firms in Singapore and South East Asia wanting a range of unsecured loans
Capchase1.910 of 12Software and subscription firms wanting a revolving limit tied to recurring revenue
Fundbox1.411 of 12Platforms and small businesses in four countries wanting the widest product range
Shopify Capital1.112 of 12Shopify merchants in nine countries

Full Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index ranking

Stripe Capital compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Stripe Capital is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.