How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Providers › Shopify Capital
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Shopify Capital review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

Financing offered to stores on Shopify, as loans in five countries and cash advances in four.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
1.1 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
0Awards 2026
1Index
12 of 12Rank, Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index

Short answer.

Shopify Capital scores 1.1 out of 5 (23 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index 2026 and ranks 12 of 12. It is strongest for shopify merchants in nine countries, and its best criterion is product range at 3 out of 5. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing and limits, published pricing and published eligibility.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index 2026.

Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index

1.1 / 523 out of 100 · rank 12 of 12

No award in the Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index 2026.

SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For online and retail brands2412 of 12
For software and subscription firms1912 of 12
For small businesses and merchants2712 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Shopify merchants in nine countries.

  • Product range (3/5). Two financing types published: loans and cash advances.
  • Published eligibility (3/5). Trading history and nine eligible countries published; minimum revenue not published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Limits and speed (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Borrower terms (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing (2/5). US lending bank named; no licence number or security certification on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Shopify Capital publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

Financing offered to stores on Shopify, as loans in five countries and cash advances in four. It publishes the countries, the product in each country, a three-month trading rule and the US lending bank. It publishes no prices, amounts, funding times or borrower terms on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Products"Shopify Capital offers merchant cash advances and loans to eligible businesses."
CountriesLoans in Australia, Canada, France, Germany and the United States; merchant cash advance in Ireland, the Netherlands, Spain and the United Kingdom.
Eligibility"Your store must be actively subscribed to a Shopify plan and operational for at least three months"; trusts and partnerships not supported.
RepaymentRepayments withdrawn from the bank account that receives Shopify Payments payouts; "Typically, debits are processed within 2 business days".
Lender"All funding through Shopify Capital in the United States is issued by WebBank."
Pricing and limitsNot published on the help pages read.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Shopify Capital

  • Pricing and limits. Not published on the help pages read.
  • Published pricing. Not published on the pages read.
  • Published eligibility. Minimum revenue not published.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: help.shopify.com/manual/finances/shopify-capital, help.shopify.com/en/manual/finance/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Product range: 3/5. Two financing types published: loans and cash advances.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Published eligibility: 3/5. Trading history and nine eligible countries published; minimum revenue not published.
  • Limits and speed: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Borrower terms: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing: 2/5. US lending bank named; no licence number or security certification on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Shopify Capital alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Clearco3.41 of 12US online brands with over $100,000 monthly revenue wanting clear borrower terms
iwoca3.12 of 12UK limited companies wanting a representative APR and money within hours
Bluevine3.03 of 12US companies with 12 months' trading wanting a line of credit next to a business account
Liberis2.94 of 12UK merchants wanting a published representative cost and a range of advance sizes
Wayflyer2.65 of 12Online and retail brands in 11 countries wanting a single fixed fee
Stripe Capital2.56 of 12Businesses already processing payments on Stripe in six countries
Lighter Capital2.27 of 12Software and technology firms in the US, Canada and Australia with $200,000 or more recurring revenue
Founderpath2.18 of 12Software firms with $1m to $3m recurring revenue wanting money within a day
Funding Societies1.99 of 12Small firms in Singapore and South East Asia wanting a range of unsecured loans
Capchase1.910 of 12Software and subscription firms wanting a revolving limit tied to recurring revenue
Fundbox1.411 of 12Platforms and small businesses in four countries wanting the widest product range

Full Revenue-Based and Working Capital Finance Index ranking

Shopify Capital compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Shopify Capital is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.