How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Agora (AUSD) vs Circle (USDC and EURC)
Comparison · 2026 edition

Agora (AUSD) vs Circle (USDC and EURC): stablecoin issuers compared 2026.

Agora (AUSD) and Circle (USDC and EURC) side by side in the Stablecoin Issuers Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.3 / 5Agora (AUSD)
4.3 / 5Circle (USDC and EURC)
CircleHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Stablecoin Issuers Index, Circle (USDC and EURC) scores higher overall: 4.3 out of 5 (86 out of 100) against 3.3 (66), ranking 1 and 4 of 11. Circle (USDC and EURC) also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAgora (AUSD)Circle (USDC and EURC)
Score out of 53.34.3
Score out of 1006686
Overall rank4 of 111 of 11
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)65, rank 583, rank 1
For exchanges and brokers (out of 100)68, rank 487, rank 1
For corporate treasuries (out of 100)66, rank 587, rank 1
TypeDollar stablecoin issuerDollar and euro stablecoin issuer

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAgora (AUSD)Circle (USDC and EURC)
Reserves3/5
Monthly management reports on reserve holdings; custodians not named.
5/5
Reserve holdings and mint and burn flows published weekly, with the BlackRock-managed reserve fund named.
Independent assurance4/5
Monthly attestations by Grant Thornton LLP.
4/5
Monthly assurance by a Big Four firm, not named on the page, plus audited financial statements by Deloitte.
Regulatory standing3/5
Bermuda Class F licence; US charter at preliminary conditional approval only.
5/5
Licences in the US, EU, UK, Singapore, Bermuda and Abu Dhabi with numbers published.
Redemption3/5
Direct minting and redemption by API; no timing or minimum.
4/5
Direct institutional minting and redemption through Circle Mint; a five business day limit is published for EEA retail redemptions only.
Published fees3/5
No minting or redemption fees stated on the homepage rather than a fee page.
2/5
Minting stated as free; redemption and on-chain sending fees sit in a fee schedule that could not be read.
Currencies and networks4/5
Ten networks and one currency.
5/5
38 networks and two currencies published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Stablecoin Issuers Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactAgora (AUSD)Circle (USDC and EURC)
ReservesAgora publishes "monthly management reports on AUSD reserves" on dollar and reserve asset holdings, from July 2024. Custodians not named on the pages read.Transparency page: "USDC reserve holdings are fully disclosed on a weekly basis, along with associated mint/burn flows." Reserves split into bank deposits, deposits at systemically important institutions, overnight reverse Treasury repo and Treasuries under three months; Treasuries may be held in "the Circle Reserve Fund, a 2a-7 money market fund managed by BlackRock".
Independent assurance"Monthly reports of Agora's reserves provided by third-party accounting firm, Grant Thornton LLP and prepared according to attestation standards established by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants"; reports listed January to August 2026."A Big Four accounting firm provides monthly third-party assurance that the value of USDC reserves are greater than the amount of USDC in circulation", prepared under AICPA attestation standards. USDC page: "Deloitte & Touche LLP is Circle's independent auditor and has audited Circle's financials since fiscal year 2022."
Regulatory standing"AUSD is issued by Agora Bermuda Limited which is regulated and licensed by the Bermuda Monetary Authority", holding "a Class F license to issue, sell or redeem virtual coins". Homepage: "Agora received preliminary conditional approval from the OCC."Licences page: OCC national trust bank charter number 25361 (Circle National Trust); NYDFS limited purpose trust company; ACPR electronic money institution No. 17788 and AMF MiCA crypto-asset service provider authorisation No. E2026-005 (Circle Internet Financial Europe SAS); MAS Major Payment Institution No. PS20200630; FCA e-money No. 900480; Bermuda DAB licence No. 54786; ADGM FSRA permission 250035. Circle Internet Financial, LLC NMLS 1201441.
Redemption"Programmatically mint, redeem, and transfer stablecoins" through Agora's API. No redemption time or minimum published.USDC terms: Circle Mint account holders can "issue USDC for USD" and "redeem USDC for USD from Circle"; "Circle Mint is currently available only to institutions". MiCA redemption policy: EEA holders other than retail open a Circle Mint account; retail payout "should not take more than 5 business days".
Published feesHomepage: "Move between AUSD and currencies with no minting or redemption fees." No fee page.USDC terms: "Circle will not charge you any fees for tokenizing USD for USDC, or receiving USDC"; fees apply to sending USDC on chain from Circle Mint per the Circle Product Fee Schedule. Redemption is at $1 "less fees where applicable". The fee schedule page did not load when read.
Currencies and networksMainnet deployments: Arbitrum, Avalanche C-chain, Base, Ethereum, Immutable, Katana, Mantle, Monad, Polygon PoS and Solana. One currency: US dollar."USDC is natively supported on 38 blockchain networks as of September 16, 2026." Two currencies: USDC (US dollar) and EURC (euro).
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Agora (AUSD): reserves, redemption and published fees.

Not published or not stated by Circle (USDC and EURC): independent assurance.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: agora.finance, docs.agora.finance/developer/transparency, docs.agora.finance/developer/…; and circle.com/transparency, circle.com/usdc, circle.com/legal/usdc-terms, circle.com/legal/licenses, circle.com/legal/mica-redemption-policy, circle.com/pricing.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Agora (AUSD)

No award in this index.

Circle (USDC and EURC)
Leader 2026Best for payment and e-money firms 2026Best for exchanges and brokers 2026Best for corporate treasuries 2026Top rated for reserves 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for currencies and networks 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Agora (AUSD) suits

Fintechs and platforms wanting fee-free minting and a share of reserve income.

  • Independent assurance (4/5). Monthly attestations by Grant Thornton LLP.
  • Currencies and networks (4/5). Ten networks and one currency.

Agora (AUSD) full profile

Circle (USDC and EURC) suits

Payment firms and exchanges needing the widest licensing and network coverage.

  • Reserves (5/5). Reserve holdings and mint and burn flows published weekly, with the BlackRock-managed reserve fund named.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences in the US, EU, UK, Singapore, Bermuda and Abu Dhabi with numbers published.
  • Currencies and networks (5/5). 38 networks and two currencies published.

Circle (USDC and EURC) full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.