How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Ebury vs Wayflyer
Comparison · 2026 edition

Ebury vs Wayflyer: trade finance compared 2026.

Ebury and Wayflyer side by side in the Trade Finance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Ebury
3.9 / 5Wayflyer
WayflyerHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Trade Finance Index, Wayflyer scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.2 (65), ranking 1 and 3 of 14. Wayflyer also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreEburyWayflyer
Score out of 53.23.9
Score out of 1006578
Overall rank3 of 141 of 14
For importers (out of 100)64, rank 279, rank 1
For exporters (out of 100)65, rank 379, rank 1
For wholesalers (out of 100)66, rank 276, rank 1
TypeUK e-money institution with trade lendingIrish non-bank lender

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionEburyWayflyer
Products4/5
Supplier payment finance for imports and export invoice finance with buyer credit are published.
3/5
Inventory financing and working capital advances are published; no receivables or supplier finance as such.
Published cost2/5
No standard rate; the only figure is an illustrative 0.5% a month in a worked import example, plus published zero set-up and early repayment fees.
5/5
A worked example ($100,000 financed, $4,200 fee) and a 5% to 10% fee range are published.
Facility size and tenor4/5
GBP 50,000 to GBP 5 million with 150 days to repay; the minimum sits above the scale's under-$50,000 floor.
3/5
Up to $20 million published, with no minimum and no stated term.
Speed3/5
Set-up within two weeks is published; drawdown on signing.
5/5
An offer in as little as 24 hours and funds within one to three business days are published.
Access3/5
Published minimums (GBP 1M revenue, two years), but countries are not listed and a guarantee may occasionally be required.
4/5
Eleven countries of incorporation, published revenue minimums and no personal guarantee.
Standing4/5
FCA-authorised e-money institution (900797); the lending entity and funding source are not named.
3/5
An established non-bank with a named Irish company and published offices; no licence or external funding source.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactEburyWayflyer
Legal status'Ebury Partners UK Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution (reference number: 900797).' EU: Ebury Partners Belgium NV/SA, a payment institution (Spanish branch supervised by the Bank of Spain, registration 6889). The financing pages do not name the lending entity: 'availability depends on the entity's regulatory permissions'.'Wayflyer Limited trading as "Wayflyer", registered in Ireland under company number 602786', registered office One Spencer Dock, North Wall Quay, Dublin 1. No licence or regulator named; platform terms 'governed by Irish law' (effective 14 October 2026).
ProductsSupplier Payment Finance, an unsecured credit line to pay suppliers, raw materials and freight 'in most currencies'. Trade finance page: import finance (repay 'up to 150 days later') and export finance ('Provide your buyers credit': 90% of the invoice paid up front, buyers repay 'up to 120 days later').Inventory financing ('a smarter alternative to PO financing and invoice factoring'), merchant cash advance ('Our core funding product') and fixed-term loans.
Published costSet-up costs £0; interest only on the amount drawn 'at a rate pre-decided and mentioned in your terms and conditions'; 'zero fees for early repayment and any unused credit'. The trade finance page's worked example uses a 'Representative example of 0.5% per month funding cost'; no standard rate published.Inventory financing worked example: $100,000 financed, $4,200 fee, $104,200 to repay. Help centre: one fixed fee 'typically between 5% and 10% of the total advance amount', example $100,000 at 6% = $6,000 fee. No interest, set-up, prepayment or late fees listed.
Facility size and tenor'Access unsecured credit lines from £50K to £5M.' 'Sell your goods and repay Ebury within 150 days.'Inventory financing 'up to $20M'; minimum not published. Repayment of the amount plus a fixed fee in set instalments (weekly, bi-weekly and monthly are shown); the FAQ says inventory financing typically bridges '30 to 120 days'. Term length not stated.
SpeedAccount and credit line set-up 'usually takes up to two weeks'; funds 'available to draw and pay your suppliers as soon as you sign your T&Cs'.Offer 'in as little as 24 hours'; funds 'within 1-3 business days' (help centre) or 'as little as 24 hours' after approval (inventory page).
Who can applyOperating revenue of GBP 1M or more; tangible net worth above GBP 100,000; at least 2 years of trading. Countries not listed: 'Ebury's product offerings may vary based on your country of origin.' Unsecured; 'In rare cases, we may require a personal or cross-company guarantee'.Funding generally: incorporated in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Australia, Ireland, Spain, the Netherlands, Belgium, Denmark, Germany or Sweden; minimum average monthly revenue $10,000 (or EUR 10,000, GBP 10,000, AUD 20,000, CAD 20,000) for 6 months; 6 months trading for goods sellers. Inventory financing: US, UK or Australia, 12 months trading. 'No personal guarantees.' Dropshippers not funded.
Funding and historyClient funds held in separate accounts under safeguarding and client money rules. Funding source for the credit line not named.Offices in Dublin, Charlotte, London, New York, Sydney and Berlin (terms page). Customer agreements are with 'a Wayflyer group company'; no external funder named.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Ebury: published cost, who can apply, funding and history, access and standing.

Not published or not stated by Wayflyer: legal status, published cost, facility size and tenor and funding and history.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: ebury.com/products/financing/…, ebury.com/en/supplier-payment-finance, ebury.com/trade-finance, ebury.com/group-legal-entities; and wayflyer.com/wholesale-financing, help-center.wayflyer.com/en/articles/…, help-center.wayflyer.com/en/articles/…, help-center.wayflyer.com/en/articles/…, wayflyer.com/terms.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Ebury
Leader 2026
Wayflyer
Leader 2026Best for importers 2026Best for exporters 2026Best for wholesalers 2026Top rated for published cost 2026Top rated for speed 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Ebury suits

Unsecured import finance with FX in one account.

  • Products (4/5). Supplier payment finance for imports and export invoice finance with buyer credit are published.
  • Facility size and tenor (4/5). GBP 50,000 to GBP 5 million with 150 days to repay; the minimum sits above the scale's under-$50,000 floor.
  • Standing (4/5). FCA-authorised e-money institution (900797); the lending entity and funding source are not named.

Ebury full profile

Wayflyer suits

Inventory funding for brands and wholesalers.

  • Published cost (5/5). A worked example ($100,000 financed, $4,200 fee) and a 5% to 10% fee range are published.
  • Speed (5/5). An offer in as little as 24 hours and funds within one to three business days are published.

Wayflyer full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.