How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Ebury vs Settle
Comparison · 2026 edition

Ebury vs Settle: trade finance compared 2026.

Ebury and Settle side by side in the Trade Finance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.2 / 5Ebury
3.2 / 5Settle
SettleHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Trade Finance Index, both score 3.2 out of 5 (65 out of 100); Settle ranks higher on the tie-break, at 2 of 14. Settle scores higher for exporters; they tie for importers and wholesalers.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreEburySettle
Score out of 53.23.2
Score out of 1006565
Overall rank3 of 142 of 14
For importers (out of 100)64, rank 264, rank 3
For exporters (out of 100)65, rank 366, rank 2
For wholesalers (out of 100)66, rank 266, rank 3
TypeUK e-money institution with trade lendingUS fintech lender

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionEburySettle
Products4/5
Supplier payment finance for imports and export invoice finance with buyer credit are published.
3/5
Supplier bill financing and purchase order financing are published.
Published cost2/5
No standard rate; the only figure is an illustrative 0.5% a month in a worked import example, plus published zero set-up and early repayment fees.
2/5
Pricing is explained with a worked APR illustration, but no standard rate is published.
Facility size and tenor4/5
GBP 50,000 to GBP 5 million with 150 days to repay; the minimum sits above the scale's under-$50,000 floor.
5/5
From $20,000 to $15 million with repayment extendable to 180 days.
Speed3/5
Set-up within two weeks is published; drawdown on signing.
4/5
Approval in one to three business days and funds in a few days are published.
Access3/5
Published minimums (GBP 1M revenue, two years), but countries are not listed and a guarantee may occasionally be required.
3/5
Published minimums and personal guarantees typically not required, but only US consumer brands are served.
Standing4/5
FCA-authorised e-money institution (900797); the lending entity and funding source are not named.
3/5
An established non-bank with $4 billion funded and a named credit facility; the lending entity and licence are not stated.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Trade Finance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactEburySettle
Legal status'Ebury Partners UK Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority as an Electronic Money Institution (reference number: 900797).' EU: Ebury Partners Belgium NV/SA, a payment institution (Spanish branch supervised by the Bank of Spain, registration 6889). The financing pages do not name the lending entity: 'availability depends on the entity's regulatory permissions'.'Settle Inc.', 36 W 20th St #10, New York, NY 10011. The financing page does not name the lending entity, a partner bank or any state lending licence.
ProductsSupplier Payment Finance, an unsecured credit line to pay suppliers, raw materials and freight 'in most currencies'. Trade finance page: import finance (repay 'up to 150 days later') and export finance ('Provide your buyers credit': 90% of the invoice paid up front, buyers repay 'up to 120 days later').Working Capital: Settle pays supplier bills on Extended Payment Terms (single repayment) or Amortized Terms; purchase order financing mentioned in the FAQ. Bill pay to international vendors 'via no or low-cost wire transfer in either USD or a foreign currency' (90 currencies).
Published costSet-up costs £0; interest only on the amount drawn 'at a rate pre-decided and mentioned in your terms and conditions'; 'zero fees for early repayment and any unused credit'. The trade finance page's worked example uses a 'Representative example of 0.5% per month funding cost'; no standard rate published.Simple interest on the outstanding balance; no base rate or fee schedule. FAQ illustration: a 1.4% monthly simple-interest rate equals a 17.03% APR. International wires $13 to $15 by plan.
Facility size and tenor'Access unsecured credit lines from £50K to £5M.' 'Sell your goods and repay Ebury within 150 days.''Approvals from $20K to $15M.' Repayment due in 30 days, extendable to 180 days (help centre: in 30-day steps up to 120 days for Extended Payment Terms).
SpeedAccount and credit line set-up 'usually takes up to two weeks'; funds 'available to draw and pay your suppliers as soon as you sign your T&Cs'.Approval in 1 to 3 business days; 'Most founders get funds in a few days'. Each financed payment reviewed in 1 to 2 business days.
Who can applyOperating revenue of GBP 1M or more; tangible net worth above GBP 100,000; at least 2 years of trading. Countries not listed: 'Ebury's product offerings may vary based on your country of origin.' Unsecured; 'In rare cases, we may require a personal or cross-company guarantee'.Consumer brands that hold inventory; trailing twelve-month revenue of at least $500,000; at least one year in operation. Personal guarantees 'typically' not required. US focus implied; countries not stated.
Funding and historyClient funds held in separate accounts under safeguarding and client money rules. Funding source for the credit line not named.'Funded over $4B'; a $240M credit facility from a financial institution and an NYC asset manager. Investors include Ribbit Capital, Kleiner Perkins and Founders Fund.
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Ebury: published cost, who can apply, funding and history, access and standing.

Not published or not stated by Settle: who can apply, published cost and standing.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: ebury.com/products/financing/…, ebury.com/en/supplier-payment-finance, ebury.com/trade-finance, ebury.com/group-legal-entities; and settle.com/financing, help.settle.com/en/articles/…, help.settle.com/en/articles/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Ebury
Leader 2026
Settle
Leader 2026Top rated for facility size and tenor 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Ebury suits

Unsecured import finance with FX in one account.

  • Products (4/5). Supplier payment finance for imports and export invoice finance with buyer credit are published.
  • Facility size and tenor (4/5). GBP 50,000 to GBP 5 million with 150 days to repay; the minimum sits above the scale's under-$50,000 floor.
  • Standing (4/5). FCA-authorised e-money institution (900797); the lending entity and funding source are not named.

Ebury full profile

Settle suits

US consumer brands extending supplier terms to 180 days.

  • Facility size and tenor (5/5). From $20,000 to $15 million with repayment extendable to 180 days.

Settle full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.