How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Ramp vs Spendesk
Comparison · 2026 edition

Ramp vs Spendesk: spend management compared 2026.

Ramp and Spendesk side by side in the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.7 / 5Ramp
3.9 / 5Spendesk
RampHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index, Ramp scores higher overall: 4.7 out of 5 (93 out of 100) against 3.9 (78), ranking 3 and 5 of 12. Ramp also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreRampSpendesk
Score out of 54.73.9
Score out of 1009378
Overall rank3 of 125 of 12
For startups and small firms (out of 100)91, rank 371, rank 7
For mid-market and multi-country groups (out of 100)94, rank 278, rank 4
For regulated financial firms (out of 100)94, rank 285, rank 4
TypeCorporate card and finance automation platformSpend management platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionRampSpendesk
Product coverage5/5
Cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel booking and procurement all published.
4/5
Cards, reimbursements, bill pay and procurement published; no travel booking.
Published pricing4/5
Per-user prices published, but the Plus platform fee is not.
1/5
Pricing model described with no figures.
Global reach5/5
Local-currency card issuing in 30+ countries published.
3/5
35+ countries served; local issuing in Europe and the US.
Integration4/5
Named ERP connections published; a developer API not confirmed on the pages read.
5/5
Accounting, ERP and HRIS connections and an open API published.
Regulatory standing5/5
Named issuers with regulator and reference numbers, and SOC 2 Type II.
5/5
Own ACPR licence with number, named partners and ISO 27001:2022.
Spend controls5/5
Limits, merchant controls, approvals and automatic receipt capture all published.
5/5
Card types, receipt rules, budgets and approval workflows published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactRampSpendesk
Product coverageCorporate Card; Travel & Expense with flight, hotel and car booking; reimbursements; Accounts Payable; Procurement as an add-on to Plus or Enterprise.Unlimited physical, single-use and recurring virtual cards; "Reimburse and track expenses in one place"; Procurement and Accounts Payable add-ons.
PricingFree: "$0/mo/user". Plus: "$15/mo/user + Platform fee based on team size". Enterprise: custom. 1099 filing "$.65 per IRS filing"."Fixed monthly subscription fee" plus "variable pricing based on the number of transactions"; "Card orders are free of charge"; "We do not charge active user fees". No figures; "Request a free quote".
Global reach"Local currency card issuing in 30+ countries" on Enterprise; platform "available in 190+ countries"."Finance teams across 35+ countries rely on Spendesk"; cards issued in the EEA, UK and US.
IntegrationQuickBooks Online and Xero; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Acumatica and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central on Plus; Workday and Oracle Fusion Cloud on Enterprise.Xero, QuickBooks and Datev; "40+ HRIS tools, ERP and travel systems" add-on; "Spendesk's open API".
Regulatory standingCards issued in the US by Celtic Bank, Column N.A., Sutton Bank and Lead Bank; in the UK by "Stripe Payments UK Limited, an electronic money institution authorized by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)"; in the EEA by Stripe Technology Europe Limited (Central Bank of Ireland C187865). Annual SOC 2 Type II audits."Spendesk Financial Services is a French payment institution licensed by the ACPR under number 17518"; UK cards by Adyen (FCA 779800); US by Sutton Bank. "Spendesk also holds the ISO 27001:2022 certification."
Spend controls"Category and vendor controls"; cards lock automatically "when required receipts or items aren't submitted on time"; approval workflows routed by GL code and entity; "Auto-receipt collection and matching".Custom rules for receipt collection with reminders; OCR receipt extraction; real-time budgets; dynamic approver roles and multi-condition workflows (add-on).
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Ramp: integration.

Not published or not stated by Spendesk: nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: ramp.com/pricing, ramp.com/global, ramp.com/security; and spendesk.com/en/pricing, spendesk.com/en, spendesk.com/en/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Ramp
Leader 2026Top rated for product coverage 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for spend controls 2026
Spendesk
Top rated for integration 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for spend controls 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Ramp suits

US firms wanting cards, bills, travel and procurement on one platform.

  • Product coverage (5/5). Cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel booking and procurement all published.
  • Global reach (5/5). Local-currency card issuing in 30+ countries published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Named issuers with regulator and reference numbers, and SOC 2 Type II.
  • Spend controls (5/5). Limits, merchant controls, approvals and automatic receipt capture all published.

Ramp full profile

Spendesk suits

European firms wanting unlimited users and their own regulated card issuer.

  • Integration (5/5). Accounting, ERP and HRIS connections and an open API published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own ACPR licence with number, named partners and ISO 27001:2022.
  • Spend controls (5/5). Card types, receipt rules, budgets and approval workflows published.

Spendesk full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.