How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Brex vs Ramp
Comparison · 2026 edition

Brex vs Ramp: spend management compared 2026.

Brex and Ramp side by side in the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.7 / 5Brex
4.7 / 5Ramp
BrexHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index, both score 4.7 out of 5 (93 out of 100); Brex ranks higher on the tie-break, at 2 of 12. Brex scores higher for startups and small firms; Ramp scores higher for mid-market and multi-country groups and regulated financial firms.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreBrexRamp
Score out of 54.74.7
Score out of 1009393
Overall rank2 of 123 of 12
For startups and small firms (out of 100)93, rank 291, rank 3
For mid-market and multi-country groups (out of 100)93, rank 394, rank 2
For regulated financial firms (out of 100)93, rank 394, rank 2
TypeCorporate card and spend management platformCorporate card and finance automation platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionBrexRamp
Product coverage5/5
Cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel and a procurement card published.
5/5
Cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel booking and procurement all published.
Published pricing5/5
Per-user prices published for two plans.
4/5
Per-user prices published, but the Plus platform fee is not.
Global reach5/5
Local-currency cards in 50+ countries published.
5/5
Local-currency card issuing in 30+ countries published.
Integration4/5
ERP integrations and an API published; ERP systems not named on the pricing page.
4/5
Named ERP connections published; a developer API not confirmed on the pages read.
Regulatory standing5/5
Named issuing banks, money transmitter licence number and SOC 2 Type II.
5/5
Named issuers with regulator and reference numbers, and SOC 2 Type II.
Spend controls4/5
Spend limits, merchant controls and approvals published; receipt capture not confirmed on the pages read.
5/5
Limits, merchant controls, approvals and automatic receipt capture all published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Expense Cards and Spend Management Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactBrexRamp
Product coverageCorporate cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel booking ("free on Essentials") and a Smart Card "for companies that want to simplify procurement".Corporate Card; Travel & Expense with flight, hotel and car booking; reimbursements; Accounts Payable; Procurement as an add-on to Plus or Enterprise.
PricingEssentials: "$0 user/month". Premium: "$12 user/month". Enterprise and Smart Card: custom pricing.Free: "$0/mo/user". Plus: "$15/mo/user + Platform fee based on team size". Enterprise: custom. 1099 filing "$.65 per IRS filing".
Global reach"Local-currency cards and billing in 50+ countries" (pricing page); "Issue physical and virtual cards in 60+ countries" (global page)."Local currency card issuing in 30+ countries" on Enterprise; platform "available in 190+ countries".
IntegrationAccounting integrations and "Brex API access" on Essentials; "Customizable ERP integrations and HRIS integrations" on Premium.QuickBooks Online and Xero; NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Acumatica and Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central on Plus; Workday and Oracle Fusion Cloud on Enterprise.
Regulatory standingCards issued by Emigrant Bank, Fifth Third Bank N.A., Airwallex (Netherlands) B.V. and Sutton Bank; "Brex Payments LLC, a licensed money transmitter (NMLS #2035354)"; "SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, and PCI-DSS". "Brex LLC is a wholly owned subsidiary of Capital One, N.A."Cards issued in the US by Celtic Bank, Column N.A., Sutton Bank and Lead Bank; in the UK by "Stripe Payments UK Limited, an electronic money institution authorized by the Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference number: 900461)"; in the EEA by Stripe Technology Europe Limited (Central Bank of Ireland C187865). Annual SOC 2 Type II audits.
Spend controls"AI-powered custom rules"; "Advanced approvals with dynamic Spend Limit approval chains"; "Merchant card controls and custom approvals"."Category and vendor controls"; cards lock automatically "when required receipts or items aren't submitted on time"; approval workflows routed by GL code and entity; "Auto-receipt collection and matching".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Brex: integration and spend controls.

Not published or not stated by Ramp: integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: brex.com/pricing, brex.com/global, brex.com/security; and ramp.com/pricing, ramp.com/global, ramp.com/security.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Brex
Leader 2026Top rated for product coverage 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Ramp
Leader 2026Top rated for product coverage 2026Top rated for global reach 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for spend controls 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Brex suits

US and global firms wanting a free plan and local cards in many countries.

  • Product coverage (5/5). Cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel and a procurement card published.
  • Published pricing (5/5). Per-user prices published for two plans.
  • Global reach (5/5). Local-currency cards in 50+ countries published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Named issuing banks, money transmitter licence number and SOC 2 Type II.

Brex full profile

Ramp suits

US firms wanting cards, bills, travel and procurement on one platform.

  • Product coverage (5/5). Cards, reimbursements, bill pay, travel booking and procurement all published.
  • Global reach (5/5). Local-currency card issuing in 30+ countries published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Named issuers with regulator and reference numbers, and SOC 2 Type II.
  • Spend controls (5/5). Limits, merchant controls, approvals and automatic receipt capture all published.

Ramp full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.