How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Airwallex vs XTransfer
Comparison · 2026 edition

Airwallex vs XTransfer: trade banking compared 2026.

Airwallex and XTransfer side by side in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Airwallex
3.1 / 5XTransfer
AirwallexHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Global Trade Banking Index, Airwallex scores higher overall: 3.5 out of 5 (70 out of 100) against 3.1 (62), ranking 3 and 5 of 26. Airwallex also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAirwallexXTransfer
Score out of 53.53.1
Score out of 1007062
Overall rank3 of 265 of 26
For importers (out of 100)70, rank 360, rank 6
For exporters (out of 100)74, rank 365, rank 7
For wholesalers and distributors (out of 100)66, rank 261, rank 5
TypeE-money institution (FCA) and licensed groupAuthorised payment institution (FCA) and licensed group

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAirwallexXTransfer
Getting paid5/5
Local receiving details in more than 20 currencies across the US, UK, EU, Hong Kong, Singapore, Mexico, the UAE and others, with no collection fee.
5/5
Local collection accounts in GBP, EUR, MXN, BRL, COP, AED and twelve African currencies, and free receipt from 200+ countries.
Paying suppliers5/5
The widest free local payout network assessed: 120+ countries at no fee, SWIFT £10 to £20.
5/5
Payments from US$2, CNY supplier payments capped at 0.4%, and a network built around China trade.
FX cost3/5
A clear published margin, 0.5% on majors and 1% on the rest, higher than Wise, Statrys and WorldFirst.
1/5
No margin figure is published; the site promises competitive rates without stating them.
Financing1/5
Multi-currency company cards and a yield product; no supplier finance or letters of credit.
0/5
No credit, cards or trade finance on the UK site.
Access and onboarding3/5
Eligible countries are published; companies registered in Colombia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Türkiye and the UAE cannot onboard.
4/5
Accounts in 200+ countries and regions with 24-hour digital onboarding; the accepted country list is not published as a table.
Protection and standing4/5
E-money safeguarding in the UK and EU, FDIC pass-through eligibility in the US, 60+ banking partners named by group.
4/5
FCA authorised payment institution that names the banks holding client funds, an unusual degree of disclosure.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactAirwallexXTransfer
Account feeExplore £0 or £19 a month; Grow £49; Accelerate on requestFree to open and maintain
FX margin0.5% above interbank on major currencies, 1% on othersNot published
ReceivingLocal details in 20+ currencies; collection freeFree from bank accounts in 200+ countries; local accounts in GBP, EUR, Mexico, Brazil, Colombia, UAE and 12 African markets
Paying suppliersLocal transfers to 120+ countries free; SWIFT £10 to £20From US$2 per transaction; CNY to Chinese suppliers at most 0.4%
StablecoinsUSDC on Ethereum by API early access onlyNot published
FinanceCompany cards; no trade financeNone published
Onboarding1 to 3 business days after documentsOnline, accounts ready within 24 hours
ProtectionSafeguarded e-money in the UK; FDIC pass-through in the US via Evolve Bank & TrustSafeguarded as an FCA payment institution; funds held at JPMorgan, DBS, HSBC, OCBC and Bank of China
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Airwallex: nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated.

Not published or not stated by XTransfer: FX margin, FX cost and access and onboarding.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/uk/pricing, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and xtransfer.com/uk/services/pricing, xtransfer.com/uk/services/compliance, xtransfer.com/uk/services/local-accounts, xtransfer.com/uk/about-us/company.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Airwallex
Leader 2026Top rated for getting paid 2026Top rated for paying suppliers 2026
XTransfer
Top rated for getting paid 2026Top rated for paying suppliers 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Airwallex suits

Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries.

  • Getting paid (5/5). Local receiving details in more than 20 currencies across the US, UK, EU, Hong Kong, Singapore, Mexico, the UAE and others, with no collection fee.
  • Paying suppliers (5/5). The widest free local payout network assessed: 120+ countries at no fee, SWIFT £10 to £20.

Airwallex full profile

XTransfer suits

Trade with China and emerging-market collection.

  • Getting paid (5/5). Local collection accounts in GBP, EUR, MXN, BRL, COP, AED and twelve African currencies, and free receipt from 200+ countries.
  • Paying suppliers (5/5). Payments from US$2, CNY supplier payments capped at 0.4%, and a network built around China trade.

XTransfer full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.