How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Airwallex vs Statrys
Comparison · 2026 edition

Airwallex vs Statrys: trade banking compared 2026.

Airwallex and Statrys side by side in the Global Trade Banking Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 21 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.5 / 5Airwallex
3.1 / 5Statrys
AirwallexHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Global Trade Banking Index, Airwallex scores higher overall: 3.5 out of 5 (70 out of 100) against 3.1 (63), ranking 3 and 4 of 26. Airwallex also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAirwallexStatrys
Score out of 53.53.1
Score out of 1007063
Overall rank3 of 264 of 26
For importers (out of 100)70, rank 365, rank 4
For exporters (out of 100)74, rank 369, rank 4
For wholesalers and distributors (out of 100)66, rank 255, rank 7
TypeE-money institution (FCA) and licensed groupMoney service operator (Hong Kong) and major payment institution (Singapore)

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAirwallexStatrys
Getting paid5/5
Local receiving details in more than 20 currencies across the US, UK, EU, Hong Kong, Singapore, Mexico, the UAE and others, with no collection fee.
4/5
Eleven currencies on one account number, free Hong Kong collection and local GBP and EUR details; no USD ACH details.
Paying suppliers5/5
The widest free local payout network assessed: 120+ countries at no fee, SWIFT £10 to £20.
4/5
Eighteen currencies, SWIFT at HKD 85 and free local EUR and GBP payments.
FX cost3/5
A clear published margin, 0.5% on majors and 1% on the rest, higher than Wise, Statrys and WorldFirst.
5/5
From 0.1% on major currencies, the lowest published margin in this edition.
Financing1/5
Multi-currency company cards and a yield product; no supplier finance or letters of credit.
0/5
Statrys states that it offers no loans or credit lines.
Access and onboarding3/5
Eligible countries are published; companies registered in Colombia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Türkiye and the UAE cannot onboard.
2/5
Only companies incorporated in Hong Kong, Singapore or the BVI, so the index scores access for those three.
Protection and standing4/5
E-money safeguarding in the UK and EU, FDIC pass-through eligibility in the US, 60+ banking partners named by group.
3/5
Licensed in Hong Kong and Singapore with a named custodian bank; no deposit protection scheme applies.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Global Trade Banking Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 21 October 2026.

FactAirwallexStatrys
Account feeExplore £0 or £19 a month; Grow £49; Accelerate on requestNone; HKD 88 inactivity fee below five payments a month
FX margin0.5% above interbank on major currencies, 1% on othersFrom 0.1% on 11 major currencies, from 0.15% on others, against mid-market
ReceivingLocal details in 20+ currencies; collection free11 currencies on one account; HK local collection free; SWIFT collect HKD 60; GBP and EUR local details
Paying suppliersLocal transfers to 120+ countries free; SWIFT £10 to £20SWIFT HKD 85; local EUR and GBP free; 18 currencies
StablecoinsUSDC on Ethereum by API early access onlyNot offered
FinanceCompany cards; no trade financeNone; forwards and options for hedging
Onboarding1 to 3 business days after documentsOnline; 96% of accounts opened within 3 business days
ProtectionSafeguarded e-money in the UK; FDIC pass-through in the US via Evolve Bank & TrustNot deposit protected; funds at custodian bank DBS
Date read21 October 202621 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Airwallex: nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated.

Not published or not stated by Statrys: nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated.

Facts read on 21 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/uk/pricing, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and statrys.com/hk/pricing, statrys.com/hk/for-llms, statrys.com/hk/faq/application/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Airwallex
Leader 2026Top rated for getting paid 2026Top rated for paying suppliers 2026
Statrys
Top rated for FX cost 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Airwallex suits

Free local supplier payments to 120+ countries.

  • Getting paid (5/5). Local receiving details in more than 20 currencies across the US, UK, EU, Hong Kong, Singapore, Mexico, the UAE and others, with no collection fee.
  • Paying suppliers (5/5). The widest free local payout network assessed: 120+ countries at no fee, SWIFT £10 to £20.

Airwallex full profile

Statrys suits

Hong Kong, Singapore and BVI companies trading with Asia.

  • FX cost (5/5). From 0.1% on major currencies, the lowest published margin in this edition.

Statrys full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.