How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Thredd review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A UK issuer processor, formerly GPS, that lists 49 countries and territories where it can process card issuing and holds SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
8 of 11Rank, Card Issuing Index

Short answer.

Thredd scores 2.5 out of 5 (49 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Card Issuing Index 2026 and ranks 8 of 11. It is strongest for programmes with their own issuer needing wide country coverage, with 5 out of 5 for issuing countries. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, regulatory standing and card range.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Card Issuing Index 2026.

Card Issuing Index

2.5 / 549 out of 100 · rank 8 of 11
Top rated for issuing countries 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For fintechs and e-money firms497 of 11
For expense and B2B payment platforms488 of 11
For banks and lenders517 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Programmes with their own issuer needing wide country coverage.

  • Issuing countries (5/5). 49 issuing countries and territories listed.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published.
  • Regulatory standing (2/5). SOC 2 Type II published; PCI DSS without level counts as half; no licence.
  • Programme support (0/5). Not offered: clients bring their own issuer and run their own programme.

Published facts.

What Thredd publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A UK issuer processor, formerly GPS, that lists 49 countries and territories where it can process card issuing and holds SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001. It is a processor only: clients bring their own issuer or BIN sponsor. It does not publish prices, and its test environment cannot simulate payments.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Card range"We provide virtual cards, physical cards and master virtual cards"; debit, credit, prepaid and virtual card programmes; Thredd does not offer credit products but can process credit BINs.
PricingNot published; pricing questions go to the account manager.
Issuing countriesCountry support page lists 49 countries and territories, including the UK, EEA states, the US (debit only), Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong, Japan (Visa only) and the UAE (prepaid only).
IntegrationCards API with a UAT test environment, but "There is currently no way of emulating a payment transaction in the UAT Cards API." Go live checklist without timings.
Regulatory standingAbout page lists PCI DSS (level not stated), ISO 27001, ISO 22301, SOC I Type II and SOC II Type II. No licence: "To issue cards, you must be set up on our systems and have an issuer, or be a self issuer."
Programme supportProcessing only; the programme manager is "A Thredd customer who manages a card program." 130+ clients across 50+ countries.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Thredd

  • Pricing. Not published.
  • Regulatory standing. About page lists PCI DSS (level not stated), ISO 27001, ISO 22301, SOC I Type II and SOC II Type II.
  • Card range. Wallet provisioning not described on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: thredd.ai/company, docs.thredd.ai/More_Information/Regions.htm, cardsapidocs.thredd.com/docs/general-faqs.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Card range: 4/5. Virtual, physical, debit and prepaid cards published; credit processed but not offered; wallet provisioning not described on the pages read.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published.
  • Issuing countries: 5/5. 49 issuing countries and territories listed.
  • Integration: 3/5. API and a test environment that cannot simulate payments; no self-serve sign-up or launch time.
  • Regulatory standing: 2/5. SOC 2 Type II published; PCI DSS without level counts as half; no licence.
  • Programme support: 0/5. Not offered: clients bring their own issuer and run their own programme.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Card Issuing Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Thredd alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe Issuing4.31 of 11Platforms wanting published prices and self-serve launch
Marqeta3.12 of 11Large programmes needing high volumes across many countries
Nium3.03 of 11Travel and B2B platforms issuing in Asia Pacific, Europe and the US
Enfuce3.04 of 11UK and EEA programmes wanting issuing and BIN sponsorship from one firm
Lithic2.95 of 11Developers wanting a self-serve sandbox and full programme management
Paymentology2.86 of 11Banks and fintechs in emerging markets across many countries
Airwallex2.57 of 11Platforms wanting multi-currency cards across many countries
Galileo (SoFi Tech Solutions)2.49 of 11North and Latin American programmes wanting a stated launch time
Highnote2.310 of 11US firms wanting debit, credit, charge and prepaid on one platform
Adyen Issuing2.211 of 11Platforms already using Adyen for payments in Europe, the UK and US

Full Card Issuing Index ranking

Thredd compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Thredd is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.