How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Highnote review 2026: scores, pricing and alternatives.

A US platform combining card issuing, credit, acquiring and money movement, with programme management and in-house KYC and transaction monitoring.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.3 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
1Awards 2026
1Index
10 of 11Rank, Card Issuing Index

Short answer.

Highnote scores 2.3 out of 5 (46 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Card Issuing Index 2026 and ranks 10 of 11. It is strongest for US firms wanting debit, credit, charge and prepaid on one platform, with 5 out of 5 for card range. Not published or not stated on the pages read: pricing, issuing countries, integration, regulatory standing and programme support.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Card Issuing Index 2026.

Card Issuing Index

2.3 / 546 out of 100 · rank 10 of 11
Top rated for card range 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For fintechs and e-money firms489 of 11
For expense and B2B payment platforms4210 of 11
For banks and lenders479 of 11

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

US firms wanting debit, credit, charge and prepaid on one platform.

  • Card range (5/5). Virtual, physical, tokenised, debit, credit and prepaid cards published.
Watch out for
  • Published pricing (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Issuing countries (0/5). Not published on the pages read.
  • Regulatory standing (1/5). FinCEN registration and an unnamed sponsor bank count as half; PCI DSS and SOC 2 not published on the pages read.

Published facts.

What Highnote publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A US platform combining card issuing, credit, acquiring and money movement, with programme management and in-house KYC and transaction monitoring. It publishes a test environment and dashboard sign-up. It does not publish prices, issuing countries, its sponsor bank or security certifications on the pages read.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Card range"Virtual, physical, and tokenized digital cards"; debit, credit, prepaid, fleet and virtual cards; templates for consumer and commercial credit, charge and prepaid. Blog: "supports debit, credit, charge, and prepaid in a single system".
PricingNot published on the pages read.
Issuing countriesNot published; the pages read refer only to US regulators and US state licences.
IntegrationGraphQL API and SDKs; a Test environment for simulating transactions; account creation through the Dashboard sign-up page. No launch time published.
Regulatory standingHighnote Payments, Inc. "is registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN" and is pursuing state money transmitter licences, operating "pursuant to a bank sponsorship model" meanwhile; bank not named. PCI DSS and SOC 2 not stated on the pages read.
Programme support"End-to-end card program management"; in-house teams handle KYC and KYB, transaction monitoring, daily reconciliation and settlement.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Highnote

  • Pricing. Not published on the pages read.
  • Issuing countries. Not published.
  • Integration. No launch time published.
  • Regulatory standing. Bank not named; PCI DSS and SOC 2 not stated on the pages read.
  • Programme support. Fraud tools and dispute handling not described on the pages read.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: docs.highnote.com/docs/issuing/about-issuing, docs.highnote.com/docs/get-started/…, highnote.com/blog/…, highnote.com/blog/…, docs.highnote.com/docs/get-started/….

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Card range: 5/5. Virtual, physical, tokenised, debit, credit and prepaid cards published.
  • Published pricing: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Issuing countries: 0/5. Not published on the pages read.
  • Integration: 4/5. API, test environment and dashboard sign-up; no launch time published.
  • Regulatory standing: 1/5. FinCEN registration and an unnamed sponsor bank count as half; PCI DSS and SOC 2 not published on the pages read.
  • Programme support: 3/5. Bank sponsorship, programme management and KYC published; fraud tools and dispute handling not described on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Card Issuing Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Highnote alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Stripe Issuing4.31 of 11Platforms wanting published prices and self-serve launch
Marqeta3.12 of 11Large programmes needing high volumes across many countries
Nium3.03 of 11Travel and B2B platforms issuing in Asia Pacific, Europe and the US
Enfuce3.04 of 11UK and EEA programmes wanting issuing and BIN sponsorship from one firm
Lithic2.95 of 11Developers wanting a self-serve sandbox and full programme management
Paymentology2.86 of 11Banks and fintechs in emerging markets across many countries
Airwallex2.57 of 11Platforms wanting multi-currency cards across many countries
Thredd2.58 of 11Programmes with their own issuer needing wide country coverage
Galileo (SoFi Tech Solutions)2.49 of 11North and Latin American programmes wanting a stated launch time
Adyen Issuing2.211 of 11Platforms already using Adyen for payments in Europe, the UK and US

Full Card Issuing Index ranking

Highnote compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Head-to-head comparisons cover pairs within the top five of each ranking. Highnote is compared with its alternatives in the table above.

All comparisons

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.