WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Coinbase Prime and FalconX side by side in the Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index, Coinbase Prime scores higher overall: 3.2 out of 5 (65 out of 100) against 3.1 (63), ranking 3 and 4 of 12. Coinbase Prime scores higher for payment and fintech firms and corporate treasuries; FalconX scores higher for funds and trading firms.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Coinbase Prime | FalconX |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.2 | 3.1 |
| Score out of 100 | 65 | 63 |
| Overall rank | 3 of 12 | 4 of 12 |
| For payment and fintech firms (out of 100) | 65, rank 3 | 64, rank 4 |
| For funds and trading firms (out of 100) | 65, rank 3 | 69, rank 2 |
| For corporate treasuries (out of 100) | 66, rank 3 | 57, rank 4 |
| Type | Prime broker | Prime broker and OTC desk |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Coinbase Prime | FalconX |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 NYDFS licence and trust charter, EU MiCA licence and CFTC registration published. | 5/5 EU MiCA licence, FinCEN registration, numbered US state licences and CFTC registration published. |
| Published pricing | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. |
| Asset and currency coverage | 4/5 275+ tradeable assets published; fiat coverage not stated. | 5/5 400+ tokens and 120+ fiat currencies published. |
| Execution access | 3/5 RFQ, algorithms and API published; OTC chat, FIX and 24/7 spot trading not stated. | 5/5 OTC, RFQ and streaming, FIX API and 24/7 access published. |
| Settlement | 3/5 Financing published; payment rails not named. | 3/5 Margin loans and flexible settlement stated; payment rails not named. |
| Security assurance | 5/5 SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II published. | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Coinbase Prime | FalconX |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory standing | Coinbase, Inc. is licensed by NYDFS for virtual currency business; Coinbase Custody Trust Company is a New York limited purpose trust company; Coinbase holds a MiCA licence covering all 27 EU member states; futures through Coinbase Financial Markets, Inc., a CFTC-registered futures commission merchant and NFA member. | FalconX Limited is licensed as a crypto-asset service provider by the Malta Financial Services Authority under MiCA; FalconX Delta, Inc. (NMLS ID # 2419717) is registered with FinCEN and licensed as a money transmitter in listed states, with licence numbers; FalconX Bravo, Inc. is registered as a swap dealer with the CFTC and is an NFA member. Its Singapore entities state they are not licensed by MAS. |
| Pricing | Not published; the page notes "Trading venues not connected to Coinbase Prime may offer better pricing." | Not published; the trading page cites "competitive pricing". |
| Asset and currency coverage | "275+ Tradeable assets"; "90+ Assets available for financing and cross-margining". Fiat currencies other than USD not stated. | "Trade 400+ tokens"; electronic FX "across 13 fiat currencies"; "Access 120+ fiat currencies via OTC execution, supported by Tier-1 banking partners". |
| Execution access | Order types include RFQ, TWAP, VWAP and adaptive strategies; Prime API documentation; liquidity aggregated from exchanges, market makers and OTC desks. FIX not stated on the page read. | "24/7 electronic and OTC trading"; "RFQ/Streaming"; "WebSocket, FIX, and REST" APIs; TWAP orders and smart order routing across "50+ trading venues". |
| Settlement | Prime manages "pre-funding, settlement, connectivity, and key management end-to-end"; financing and cross-margining offered. Payment rails not named. | "Margin Loans & Flexible Settlement"; on and off ramps and cross-border settlement listed. Payment rails not named. |
| Security | Coinbase Custody Trust Company "maintains SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II audits by Deloitte & Touche". | Not published on the pages read. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Coinbase Prime: pricing, asset and currency coverage, execution access and settlement.
Not published or not stated by FalconX: pricing, settlement and security.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: coinbase.com/prime, coinbase.com/en/prime/custody; and falconx.io/services/trading, falconx.io/licenses, falconx.io.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Funds and corporates wanting trading, financing and custody in one account.
Funds and fintechs needing wide token and fiat coverage through one counterparty.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.