How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Card machines › Dojo vs Teya: which card machine is better value?
Merchant services

Dojo vs Teya: which card machine is better value?.

Dojo and Teya both target independent cafés, pubs, restaurants and shops. One publishes a rate for smaller businesses and the other quotes every business individually. Here is what that means for your costs.

We compare the whole market.

Published rates from every major UK card machine provider, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own takings.

DojoSumUpTeyaFlatpayPaymentsenseSquareWorldpaytakepaymentsZettleCloverBarclaycardRevolutStripemyPOSTyl by NatWestVivaElavonLloyds Cardnet

The short answer

Dojo publishes a 1.2% blended rate on all cards for businesses under £100,000 a year of card sales, which is £24.00 on £2,000 a month, and quotes above that. Teya does not publish a rate: it quotes each business on volume, sector and average sale. Teya pays out every day including weekends and bank holidays. To compare them fairly you need both quotes (read 26 October 2026).

Card machine fees compared.

Published prices read 26 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.

ProviderIn-person card rateMonthly feeCard machineContractPayouts
Dojo
Source
1.2% blended under £100k a year; custom above£0 Essential; Plus £11.99 new customers (£25 list)Go Max £149 or £25 a month; Pocket £239 or £20; Wired £179 or £1530-day rolling or 12-month fixed (custom rate)Next day
Teya
Source
Quote onlyNot publishedNot publishedNo lock-ins statedNext day, weekends included
SumUp
Source
1.69% pay as you go, or 0.99% on Payments Plus (domestic cards)£0, or £19 on Payments PlusSolo Lite £25, Solo £79, Terminal £135 (ex VAT), bought outrightNone, cancel anytimeNext day, 7am, weekends included

VAT is excluded where the provider states it. Rates are for in-person UK consumer cards unless stated. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Get your best rate.

Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the providers that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your takings and the right machine. You keep a named account manager who looks after you after setup.

  • Whole of market, published and quoted rates
  • We negotiate the rate and the machine terms
  • We handle the switch from your current provider
  • A named account manager, not a call centre

Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.

Dojo vs Teya at a glance.

Dojo uses a blended rate, meaning one rate for every card type. Under £100,000 a year of card sales that rate is 1.2%. Above £100,000 it is a custom rate, with a 12-month fixed plan or a 30-day rolling plan. Teya publishes no price list. It says it looks at your volume, sector and average transaction, then quotes a rate that fits.

So for a small business, Dojo gives a figure you can check today and Teya gives a figure only after you apply for a quote. For a business over £100,000 a year, both are quote only, and the comparison comes down to whose quote is lower on your actual card mix.

  • Dojo strengths: published rate under £100,000 a year, contract buyout up to £3,000, switch in one day, UK phone support.
  • Dojo weaknesses: machines cost £149 to £239 upfront or £15 to £25 a month; no published rate above £100,000.
  • Teya strengths: payouts every day including weekends and bank holidays, 24/7 UK-based support, no lock-ins, lifetime warranty on the card machine.
  • Teya weaknesses: no published rate, machine price or monthly fee; 0.10% extra if you are paid into a non-Teya bank account.

Fees side by side on £2,000, £10,000 and £40,000 a month.

Card fees only, using published figures read on 26 October 2026, before any machine cost. Where a provider does not publish, we say so rather than guess. SumUp is included as a fully published benchmark at its 1.69% pay-as-you-go rate.

  • £2,000 a month: Dojo £24.00 (1.2%). Teya quote only. SumUp £33.80 (1.69%).
  • £10,000 a month, which is £120,000 a year: Dojo quote only, as its 1.2% applies under £100,000 a year. Teya quote only. SumUp £169.00, or £118.00 on Payments Plus.
  • £40,000 a month: Dojo quote only. Teya quote only. SumUp £676.00, or £415.00 on Payments Plus.
  • Teya's bank charge: if your takings go to a non-Teya bank account, Teya adds 0.10% to its fees. That is £2.00 a month on £2,000, £10.00 on £10,000 and £40.00 on £40,000.

Machines, payouts and the small print.

Dojo publishes its machine prices. The Dojo Go Max is £149 upfront on a launch offer or £25 a month, the Dojo Pocket is £239 or £20 a month and the Dojo Wired is £179 or £15 a month. Tap to Pay on iPhone, taking contactless payments on your phone, is £0. Dojo says you get your takings the next day.

Teya does not publish a machine price or monthly fee. It does publish that its card machine comes with a lifetime warranty and a debit card with 0.5% cashback. Teya pays out the next day, every day, weekends and bank holidays included, which matters to businesses that take most of their money on Friday to Sunday. To get those payouts without the extra 0.10% you need to use a Teya account.

Teya offers Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android and says it works with more than 200 till systems. Dojo describes its Sidekick app but lists no price.

Contracts and support.

Teya states: no hidden charges, no lock-ins, no small print. Its support is 24/7 and UK-based, by WhatsApp, email at [email protected] or phone on +44 1283 896 876. Its sales team works Monday to Friday, 8am to 7pm.

Dojo's contract choice depends on your size. Under £100,000 a year the Essential plan is free. Above it, you choose a 12-month fixed rate or a 30-day rolling plan. Dojo promises a real person in the UK within minutes, or within 30 seconds on its Plus plan, but does not state opening hours. It will buy out your existing contract up to £3,000 if you switch.

Neither provider publishes PCI fees (the card industry's security checks) or chargeback fees, which are charges when a customer disputes a payment. Ask for both in writing before you sign.

Is Dojo better than Teya for your business?.

If you take under £100,000 a year by card and want a price you can check before you speak to anyone, Dojo's 1.2% is a clear, published figure. You then only need to weigh the machine cost.

If most of your takings come at weekends, Teya's daily payouts, including Saturdays, Sundays and bank holidays, can make a real difference to cash flow. Pubs, restaurants and takeaways often value this.

Above £100,000 a year, there is no way to choose from the websites alone, because both are quote only. The fair way is to give both the same figures: monthly card sales, average sale, the share of credit, business and American Express cards, and your opening days. Then compare the full monthly bill, including any machine and account charges, not just the headline rate.

Get the best rate for your business.

Teya quotes every business individually and Dojo quotes everyone over £100,000 a year, so the real comparison starts with two quotes on the same figures. We compare the whole UK card payment market, including Dojo, SumUp, Teya, Flatpay, Paymentsense, Square, Worldpay and others, against your real card sales, your average sale and the way you trade. Where a provider only gives quotes, we request the quote for you and negotiate the rate, so you compare real numbers rather than list prices.

When you have chosen, we handle the switch: the application, the paperwork and the timing with your current provider, so you keep taking payments throughout. You then get a named account manager who stays with you after setup, checks your statements and deals with the provider when something needs fixing. You pay us nothing. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose.

Get my best rate

Questions people ask.

Is Teya cheaper than Dojo?

There is no published answer because Teya does not publish a rate. Dojo publishes 1.2% for businesses under £100,000 a year of card sales, which is £24.00 on £2,000 a month. Teya quotes each business on its volume, sector and average sale, so you need a Teya quote to compare.

What does Teya charge per transaction?

Teya does not publish a transaction rate. Its pricing page says it looks at your volume, sector and average transaction and quotes a rate that fits, with no standard price list. The one published fee is an extra 0.10% if your takings are paid into a non-Teya bank account (read 26 October 2026).

Does Teya pay out at weekends?

Yes. Teya says you get paid the next day, every day, weekends and bank holidays included. Dojo says you get your takings the next day but does not state weekend payouts on its pricing page.

Does Teya have a contract?

Teya states no hidden charges, no lock-ins and no small print. Dojo's Essential plan has no stated contract under £100,000 a year; above that Dojo offers a 12-month fixed rate or a 30-day rolling plan.

How much is a Dojo card machine?

Dojo Go Max is £149 upfront on a launch offer or £25 a month. Dojo Pocket is £239 upfront or £20 a month. Dojo Wired is £179 upfront or £15 a month. Tap to Pay on iPhone is £0. Prices read 26 October 2026.

Can I use Teya with my till system?

Teya says it works with more than 200 till systems, also called ePOS, the software that runs your till. Check that yours is on the list before you switch. Teya does not publish a price for its own till software.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.