How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Enfuce vs Nium
Comparison · 2026 edition

Enfuce vs Nium: card issuing compared 2026.

Enfuce and Nium side by side in the Card Issuing Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.0 / 5Enfuce
3.0 / 5Nium
NiumHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Card Issuing Index, Nium scores higher overall: 3.0 out of 5 (61 out of 100) against 3.0 (59), ranking 3 and 4 of 11. Nium scores higher for fintechs and e-money firms and expense and B2B payment platforms; they tie for banks and lenders.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreEnfuceNium
Score out of 53.03.0
Score out of 1005961
Overall rank4 of 113 of 11
For fintechs and e-money firms (out of 100)59, rank 562, rank 3
For expense and B2B payment platforms (out of 100)55, rank 458, rank 3
For banks and lenders (out of 100)63, rank 363, rank 4
TypeCard issuing processor and BIN sponsorCard issuing platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionEnfuceNium
Card range5/5
Physical, virtual, tokenised, prepaid, debit and credit cards published.
3/5
Virtual, physical, prepaid and tokenised cards published; debit and credit not specified.
Published pricing1/5
Fee structure described without figures.
0/5
Not published on the pages read.
Issuing countries3/5
UK and EEA published.
3/5
30+ markets published.
Integration3/5
API and sandbox; no self-serve sign-up or stated launch time.
5/5
API, sandbox, self-serve sign-up and a stated time to production.
Regulatory standing3/5
Own e-money licences and PCI DSS Level 1; SOC 2 not published.
4/5
Own licences with numbers and SOC 2 Type 2; PCI DSS without level counts as half.
Programme support2/5
BIN sponsorship and programme management published; KYC, fraud and dispute services not described on the pages read.
3/5
Own issuing, programme management and fraud protections published; KYC and dispute services not described on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Card Issuing Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactEnfuceNium
Card range"Physical, virtual and tokenised cards, single- or multi-use" across prepaid, debit and credit; digital wallet compatibility built in.Physical, virtual and digital cards; prepaid, embedded and white-label programmes; tokenisation and 3DS; Visa, Mastercard and Discover. Debit and credit not specified.
PricingThree fees described without figures: a one-time implementation fee, a fixed monthly service fee and "a volume-based fee that follows active cards and usage".Not published on the pages read.
Issuing countriesProgrammes "launch and scale across the UK and EEA from one base"."Operate custom card programs in 30+ markets with no BIN sponsor"; country tables for Australia, the EEA, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Singapore, the UK and the USA.
IntegrationReal-time APIs, developer documentation and a sandbox; no self-serve sign-up. Example migration: "500,000+ card customers from Santander in under seven months".Self-serve Nium Web Portal sign-up and sandbox; SDKs for Node, Python, Go and Java; "Most teams reach production in under two weeks."
Regulatory standing"A dual-regulated EMI authorised by the UK FCA and Finnish FSA"; principal member of Visa and Mastercard "since 2017"; PCI DSS Level 1. SOC 2 not stated.Licences page lists FCA e-money and payment authorisations (refs 901024, 900800, 721549), a Bank of Lithuania EMI licence (No. 14), MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200276 and US money transmitter licences (NMLS 1528562). Badges for PCI DSS (level not stated), SOC 2 Type 2 and ISO/IEC 27001.
Programme supportBIN sponsorship under its own licences (Enfuce License Services in the EEA, Enfuce UK in the UK), handling programme submission, approval and network compliance. Named clients include Pleo, Swile and Avida.Issues without a separate BIN sponsor; card programme management API; tokenisation and 3DS protections. Named clients include Aspire, AXA Bank and Amadeus.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Enfuce: regulatory standing, integration and programme support.

Not published or not stated by Nium: pricing, regulatory standing and programme support.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: enfuce.com/faqs, enfuce.com/platform/cards, docs.enfuce.com/guides/the-essentials/…; and nium.com/products/issue-cards, nium.com/developers, nium.com/licenses, nium.com/newsroom/nium-us-card-issuance.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Enfuce
Top rated for card range 2026
Nium
Leader 2026Top rated for integration 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Enfuce suits

UK and EEA programmes wanting issuing and BIN sponsorship from one firm.

  • Card range (5/5). Physical, virtual, tokenised, prepaid, debit and credit cards published.

Enfuce full profile

Nium suits

Travel and B2B platforms issuing in Asia Pacific, Europe and the US.

  • Integration (5/5). API, sandbox, self-serve sign-up and a stated time to production.

Nium full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.