How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Airwallex vs Payoneer
Comparison · 2026 edition

Airwallex vs Payoneer: cross-border payments compared 2026.

Airwallex and Payoneer side by side in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.7 / 5Airwallex
3.5 / 5Payoneer
AirwallexHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index, Airwallex scores higher overall: 4.7 out of 5 (93 out of 100) against 3.5 (70), ranking 2 and 4 of 11. Airwallex also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreAirwallexPayoneer
Score out of 54.73.5
Score out of 1009370
Overall rank2 of 114 of 11
For SMEs and exporters (out of 100)92, rank 270, rank 4
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)94, rank 270, rank 5
For marketplaces and platforms (out of 100)92, rank 270, rank 4
TypeGlobal business account and payments platformCross-border payments platform

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionAirwallexPayoneer
Payment reach4/5
200+ countries and 60+ currencies published.
4/5
190+ countries and 70+ currencies published.
Published pricing4/5
Exact FX margins, plan prices and free domestic transfers published; Swift fee published as a £10 to £20 range.
3/5
Full fee table published, but many fees are ranges or "up to" figures.
Payment speed5/5
Share of funds arriving the same day published.
3/5
Withdrawals "typically within 24 hours" published; no share of payments.
Collection accounts5/5
Local bank details in 20+ currencies published.
4/5
Receiving details in 22 currencies, local details in 13.
Integration5/5
API, batch transfers, accounting connections and a self-serve trial published.
3/5
Batch payments and ERP connections; no API or test environment on the pages read.
Regulatory standing5/5
Licences in more than ten regions published with regulator and licence numbers.
4/5
Licences named in eight regions; only the FinCEN registration number published.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Cross-border Payments and Remittance Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactAirwallexPayoneer
Payment reachBusiness account page: payouts "in 60+ currencies and 200+ countries". Pricing page: "Local transfers to 120+ countries" and "SWIFT transfers to 200+ countries"."receive, send, and manage cross-border payments across 190+ countries and territories and 70+ currencies".
PricingExplore plan: "£0 or £19 /month" (£0 with £10k deposited or held each month); Grow: "£49 /month". FX: "0.5% above interbank rates for major currencies, 1% for all others". Domestic transfers in EUR, GBP and CHF: "Free". Swift: "£10-20/ transfer (SHA and OUR)".Receiving into a local-currency receiving account: "Free"; non-local currency: "1% (minimum fee of 1.00 USD or equivalent)". Withdrawal in same country and currency: 1.50 USD; cross-border withdrawal: 1.2% to 4%. Moving funds between balances: 0.50%. Annual account fee 29.95 USD under 6,000 USD received in 12 months. "Last updated on 1 January 2026."
Payment speed"93% of funds arriving within the same day" (business account page).Withdraw "to your local bank typically within 24 hours" (receiving accounts page).
Collection accounts"Accounts with local bank details in 20+ currencies"; Global Accounts page: "receive funds from 70+ countries"."get receiving account details in 22 currencies", including local details in 13 currencies: USD, EUR, GBP, JPY, AUD, CAD, SGD, HKD, AED, MXN, BRL, KRW and IDR.
Integration"Automated FX transactions and transfers via API", international batch transfers, Xero and QuickBooks sync, "Core API access" on Explore, free one-month trial."Preview and make up to 1000 payments in one action"; "ERP to data warehouse, Payoneer connects to your systems"; no-code payment links. No API or test environment on the pages read.
Regulatory standingLicence page lists, among others: FCA EMI licence number 900876 (UK); Bank of Lithuania EMI licence no. 88; DNB relation number R179622 (Netherlands); MAS Major Payment Institution PS20200541; ASIC AFSL 487221; HK MSO 16-09-01929 and HKMA SVF0009; US money transmitter licences.FinCEN MSB Registration No. 31000288349183; e-money institution authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland; Payoneer Payment Services (UK) Limited, FCA e-money institution; HK MSO; Kanto Finance Bureau registration; ASIC; RBI; MAS Major Payment Institution. Only the FinCEN number is shown.
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Airwallex: nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated.

Not published or not stated by Payoneer: nothing in this profile is marked as not published or not stated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: airwallex.com/uk/pricing, airwallex.com/uk/business-account, airwallex.com/uk/global-accounts, help.airwallex.com/hc/en-gb/articles/…; and payoneer.com, payoneer.com/about/pricing, payoneer.com/receiving-accounts, payoneer.com/legal/….

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Airwallex
Leader 2026Top rated for payment speed 2026Top rated for collection accounts 2026Top rated for integration 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Payoneer

No award in this index.

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Airwallex suits

Businesses and platforms wanting exact FX margins, wide reach and many licences.

  • Payment speed (5/5). Share of funds arriving the same day published.
  • Collection accounts (5/5). Local bank details in 20+ currencies published.
  • Integration (5/5). API, batch transfers, accounting connections and a self-serve trial published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences in more than ten regions published with regulator and licence numbers.

Airwallex full profile

Payoneer suits

Online sellers and service firms collecting from marketplaces and clients abroad.

  • Payment reach (4/5). 190+ countries and 70+ currencies published.
  • Collection accounts (4/5). Receiving details in 22 currencies, local details in 13.
  • Regulatory standing (4/5). Licences named in eight regions; only the FinCEN registration number published.

Payoneer full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.