How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Provider profile · 2026 edition

Kraken review 2026: scores, fees and alternatives.

A global exchange with an institutional OTC desk, self-service RFQ portal and FIX API. It is the only provider in this edition that publishes a full fee table down to institutional volumes, and it publishes licences across the EU, UK, US and Australia, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 reports and proof of reserves.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
4.5 / 5Buckingham Intelligence score
8Awards 2026
1Index
1 of 12Rank, Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index

Short answer.

Kraken scores 4.5 out of 5 (90 out of 100) in the Buckingham Intelligence Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index 2026 and ranks 1 of 12. It is strongest for businesses wanting exchange, OTC and API access with a full published fee table, with 5 out of 5 for regulatory standing, published pricing, execution access and security assurance. Not published or not stated on the pages read: published pricing and settlement.

Awards and scores.

Scores from the Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index 2026.

Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index

4.5 / 590 out of 100 · rank 1 of 12
Leader 2026Best for payment and fintech firms 2026Best for funds and trading firms 2026Best for corporate treasuries 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026Top rated for execution access 2026Top rated for security assurance 2026
SegmentScore out of 100Rank
For payment and fintech firms911 of 12
For funds and trading firms901 of 12
For corporate treasuries901 of 12

The score out of 5 is the overall score out of 100 divided by 20. Leader goes to the top three overall, Best for to the first in each segment, and Top rated for to a score of 5 out of 5 on a criterion. Awards cannot be bought.

Strengths and watch-outs.

Where it scores best, and where to check closely, as shown in each ranking.

Strongest for

Businesses wanting exchange, OTC and API access with a full published fee table.

  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Licences and registrations in the EU, UK, US and Australia with numbers published.
  • Published pricing (5/5). Full maker and taker table to institutional volume tiers published; OTC spreads not published.
  • Execution access (5/5). OTC chat, RFQ, FIX API and 24/7 access published.
  • Security assurance (5/5). ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type 2 published, with proof of reserves.
Watch out for
  • Settlement (3/5). Settlement within 24 hours to account, bank or wallet stated; payment rails and settlement from a third-party custodian not stated.

Published facts.

What Kraken publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

A global exchange with an institutional OTC desk, self-service RFQ portal and FIX API. It is the only provider in this edition that publishes a full fee table down to institutional volumes, and it publishes licences across the EU, UK, US and Australia, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 reports and proof of reserves. OTC spreads are not published.

FactWhat the provider publishes
Regulatory standingDisclosures page: Payward Europe Solutions Limited, crypto-asset service provider regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland; Payward Services Limited, authorised by the FCA as an e-money institution (FRN: 1010381); Payward Limited, registered with the FCA as a cryptoasset business; Payward Interactive, Inc., US state money transmitter licences (NMLS ID 1843762); Bit Trade Pty Ltd, registered with AUSTRAC.
PricingSpot maker and taker fees by 30-day volume, from Tier 1 ($0+): 0.40% maker, 0.80% taker, to Pro 5 ($500M+): 0.0% maker, 0.05% taker. Chat and RFQ trades: "the quoted price is all-inclusive and already reflects Kraken's spread and fees."
Asset and currency coverage"550+ Supported assets across trading and custody"; OTC portal: "trade 150+ pairs in seconds". Fee page names USD, GBP, CAD, AUD, EUR and CHF as major currencies.
Execution accessOTC desk: "Chat or RFQ"; self-service RFQ portal; "Connect via API, WebSockets, REST and FIX 4.4"; "24/7 markets"; option to colocate.
Settlement"Settle trades within 24 hours using your Kraken account, your bank and/or an external wallet." OTC lending: "a minimum loan size of $500,000".
SecuritySite lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022, SOC 2 Type 2 for its qualified custody offering and SOC 2 Type 1 for custody and funding services; proof of reserves published.
Date read26 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Kraken

  • Published pricing. OTC spreads not published.
  • Settlement. Payment rails and settlement from a third-party custodian not stated.

A fact that is not published is scored as not offered or, for a fee, as if it were high. It is never estimated.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: kraken.com/institutions, kraken.com/institutions/otc, kraken.com/features/fee-schedule, kraken.com/legal/disclosures.

Criterion scores.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

  • Regulatory standing: 5/5. Licences and registrations in the EU, UK, US and Australia with numbers published.
  • Published pricing: 5/5. Full maker and taker table to institutional volume tiers published; OTC spreads not published.
  • Asset and currency coverage: 4/5. 550+ assets and six major fiat currencies published.
  • Execution access: 5/5. OTC chat, RFQ, FIX API and 24/7 access published.
  • Settlement: 3/5. Settlement within 24 hours to account, bank or wallet stated; payment rails and settlement from a third-party custodian not stated.
  • Security assurance: 5/5. ISO 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type 2 published, with proof of reserves.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Kraken alternatives.

The other providers in the same ranking, ordered by score.

ProviderScore out of 5RankStrongest for
Zerohash3.32 of 12Payment firms and fintechs embedding crypto buy, sell and payouts
Coinbase Prime3.23 of 12Funds and corporates wanting trading, financing and custody in one account
FalconX3.14 of 12Funds and fintechs needing wide token and fiat coverage through one counterparty
OSL2.95 of 12Asian and European businesses converting between stablecoins and fiat
B2C22.96 of 12Exchanges, brokers and fintechs wanting streaming prices without pre-funding
Wintermute2.77 of 12Funds and token projects wanting chat and API liquidity in hundreds of tokens
GSR2.58 of 12Treasuries and funds trading large blocks across many fiat currencies
Enigma Securities2.59 of 12UK and European firms wanting voice, chat and API execution
Galaxy1.910 of 12US institutions wanting OTC trading alongside lending and derivatives
LMAX Digital1.811 of 12Banks and brokers wanting a regulated venue with a published instrument list
Keyrock0.912 of 12Crypto platforms and token projects wanting a single OTC counterparty

Full Crypto Exchange and Liquidity for Businesses Index ranking

Kraken compared.

Side by side on every criterion, fact and award.

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.