WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Coinbase Prime Custody and Gemini Custody side by side in the Crypto Custody Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Crypto Custody Index, Coinbase Prime Custody scores higher overall: 3.9 out of 5 (78 out of 100) against 3.6 (73), ranking 3 and 4 of 12. Coinbase Prime Custody scores higher for funds and asset managers and crypto, payment and stablecoin firms; Gemini Custody scores higher for corporate treasuries.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | Coinbase Prime Custody | Gemini Custody |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 3.9 | 3.6 |
| Score out of 100 | 78 | 73 |
| Overall rank | 3 of 12 | 4 of 12 |
| For funds and asset managers (out of 100) | 84, rank 3 | 74, rank 6 |
| For crypto, payment and stablecoin firms (out of 100) | 81, rank 3 | 65, rank 7 |
| For corporate treasuries (out of 100) | 69, rank 6 | 80, rank 1 |
| Type | Qualified custodian (New York trust company) | Qualified custodian (New York trust company) |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | Coinbase Prime Custody | Gemini Custody |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 New York trust charter and an EU MiCA licence published. | 4/5 New York trust licence with NMLS number published; one jurisdiction. |
| Published pricing | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. | 5/5 Full custody fee schedule with rate, monthly minimum and withdrawal terms published. |
| Asset coverage | 5/5 470+ assets published. | 0/5 Not published on the custody pages read. |
| Security assurance | 5/5 SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II audits by Deloitte published. | 5/5 ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 with cold storage published. |
| Insurance | 3/5 Crime insurance stated without an amount. | 4/5 $125M cover published; insurer not named. |
| Client asset segregation | 5/5 On-chain segregation and bankruptcy-remote client funds stated. | 3/5 On-chain segregated addresses stated; no legal insolvency structure stated. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Crypto Custody Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | Coinbase Prime Custody | Gemini Custody |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory standing | Coinbase Custody Trust Company is "chartered as a limited purpose trust company by the New York State Department of Financial Services" and "a Qualified Custodian". Coinbase Prime page: Coinbase holds a MiCA licence covering all 27 EU member states. | "Gemini is a fiduciary and qualified custodian under New York Banking Law and is licensed by the State of New York to custody digital assets." Gemini Trust Company, LLC NMLS #1518126. |
| Pricing | Not published on the pages read. | Custody Fee Schedule (7 October 2026): "0.4% or $30 per month per asset, whichever is higher"; minimum balance: none; setup fee: waived; withdrawals: network fee passed through (legacy accounts $125). |
| Asset coverage | "Clients can access 470+ assets today, with more being added regularly." | Not published on the custody pages read. |
| Security | "Coinbase Custody Trust Company maintains SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II audits by Deloitte & Touche"; Coinbase Vault storage "combines physical security, consensus computation, and strict process controls". | "ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type 2 certified"; "Instant trading from cold storage"; new accounts use Gemini's MPC (multi-party computation) infrastructure. |
| Insurance | Coinbase article (4 March 2024) cites "a substantial commercial crime insurance policy that covers theft of fiat currency or digital assets"; no amount published. | "Gemini maintains $125M in digital asset insurance for certain types of losses": $25M commercial crime cover for the hot wallet and $100M for cold storage (as of 1 March 2024). Insurer not named. |
| Segregation | "Client funds are segregated at the account, sub-account, and on-chain wallet address level"; "Legally, client funds are bankruptcy remote" (Coinbase article, 4 March 2024). | "All customer assets are segregated using unique digital addresses that are independently verifiable on their respective blockchains." Bankruptcy remoteness not stated. |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by Coinbase Prime Custody: pricing and insurance.
Not published or not stated by Gemini Custody: asset coverage, insurance and segregation.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: coinbase.com/custody, coinbase.com/en/prime/custody, coinbase.com/prime, coinbase.com/blog/…; and gemini.com/custody, gemini.com/fees/custody-fee-schedule.
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Funds and listed products wanting a large asset range with audited controls.
Smaller funds and corporates wanting a fully published custody price.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.