WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

BitGo and Coinbase Prime Custody side by side in the Crypto Custody Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.
In the Crypto Custody Index, BitGo scores higher overall: 4.2 out of 5 (83 out of 100) against 3.9 (78), ranking 1 and 3 of 12. BitGo also scores higher in every segment.
Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.
| Score | BitGo | Coinbase Prime Custody |
|---|---|---|
| Score out of 5 | 4.2 | 3.9 |
| Score out of 100 | 83 | 78 |
| Overall rank | 1 of 12 | 3 of 12 |
| For funds and asset managers (out of 100) | 88, rank 1 | 84, rank 3 |
| For crypto, payment and stablecoin firms (out of 100) | 84, rank 1 | 81, rank 3 |
| For corporate treasuries (out of 100) | 77, rank 2 | 69, rank 6 |
| Type | Qualified custodian and national trust bank | Qualified custodian (New York trust company) |
Each score with the evidence behind it.
| Criterion | BitGo | Coinbase Prime Custody |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory standing | 5/5 Custody licences from the OCC, NYDFS, BaFin, MAS and VARA published. | 5/5 New York trust charter and an EU MiCA licence published. |
| Published pricing | 1/5 Fee method published; no rates. | 0/5 Not published on the pages read. |
| Asset coverage | 5/5 1,110+ assets across 44+ blockchains published. | 5/5 470+ assets published. |
| Security assurance | 4/5 SOC 2 Type 2 and full cold storage published; SOC 1 and ISO 27001 not stated. | 5/5 SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II audits by Deloitte published. |
| Insurance | 5/5 $250M cover and Lloyd's insurers published. | 3/5 Crime insurance stated without an amount. |
| Client asset segregation | 5/5 Segregated, bankruptcy-remote wallets stated. | 5/5 On-chain segregation and bankruptcy-remote client funds stated. |
Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Crypto Custody Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored
What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.
| Fact | BitGo | Coinbase Prime Custody |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory standing | Licences page: BitGo Bank & Trust, National Association, authorised by the OCC; BitGo New York Trust Company, regulated by NYDFS; BitGo Europe GmbH, MiCAR licence from BaFin; BitGo Singapore, Major Payment Institution licence from MAS; BitGo Custody MENA FZE, licensed by VARA for custody; BitGo GmbH, affiliated with VQF under FINMA supervision. | Coinbase Custody Trust Company is "chartered as a limited purpose trust company by the New York State Department of Financial Services" and "a Qualified Custodian". Coinbase Prime page: Coinbase holds a MiCA licence covering all 27 EU member states. |
| Pricing | Billing methodology: a basis point fee on average assets under custody plus fees on outgoing transfers, at "the rate or tiered rates specified in the client's agreement". No rates published. | Not published on the pages read. |
| Asset coverage | "supports more than 1,110 crypto assets across more than 44 different blockchains" (BitGo article). | "Clients can access 470+ assets today, with more being added regularly." |
| Security | "100% Cold Storage" in "Cold storage environments that are offline"; SOC 2 Type 2, renewed annually (BitGo article). SOC 1 not stated on the pages read. | "Coinbase Custody Trust Company maintains SOC 1 Type II and SOC 2 Type II audits by Deloitte & Touche"; Coinbase Vault storage "combines physical security, consensus computation, and strict process controls". |
| Insurance | "We maintain a $250M insurance policy on digital assets where BitGo Bank & Trust, National Association maintains all of the keys", from "a syndicate of insurers in the Lloyd's of London and European Marketplace". | Coinbase article (4 March 2024) cites "a substantial commercial crime insurance policy that covers theft of fiat currency or digital assets"; no amount published. |
| Segregation | Custodial wallets are "structured to keep client assets segregated from corporate balance sheets" and "segregated and structured to be bankruptcy-remote". | "Client funds are segregated at the account, sub-account, and on-chain wallet address level"; "Legally, client funds are bankruptcy remote" (Coinbase article, 4 March 2024). |
| Date read | 26 October 2026 | 26 October 2026 |
Not published or not stated by BitGo: pricing and security.
Not published or not stated by Coinbase Prime Custody: pricing and insurance.
Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: bitgo.com/products/qualified-custody, bitgo.com/company/licenses, bitgo.com/resources/billing-methodology, bitgo.com/solutions/insurance, bitgo.com/resources/blog/…, bitgo.com/resources/blog/…; and coinbase.com/custody, coinbase.com/en/prime/custody, coinbase.com/prime, coinbase.com/blog/….
Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.
From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.
Firms needing licensed custody across the US, EU, Singapore and Dubai.
Funds and listed products wanting a large asset range with audited controls.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.