How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › Swan vs Wise Business
Comparison · 2026 edition

Swan vs Wise Business: virtual accounts compared 2026.

Swan and Wise Business side by side in the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
2.8 / 5Swan
4.0 / 5Wise Business
Wise BusinessHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index, Wise Business scores higher overall: 4.0 out of 5 (79 out of 100) against 2.8 (56), ranking 2 and 5 of 10. Wise Business also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreSwanWise Business
Score out of 52.84.0
Score out of 1005679
Overall rank5 of 102 of 10
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)66, rank 675, rank 4
For marketplaces and platforms (out of 100)58, rank 578, rank 2
For businesses collecting from abroad (out of 100)45, rank 884, rank 2
TypeEuro accounts and virtual IBANs under a French e-money licenceMulti-currency business account

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionSwanWise Business
Currencies and markets1/5
Euro only, with IBANs from five countries.
5/5
22 receiving currencies published.
Account ownership4/5
Accounts with IBANs for the client's users and virtual IBANs published; naming of each account not stated.
3/5
Dedicated account details for the business; virtual accounts not published.
Published pricing1/5
Only a "starting from" plan price published.
5/5
Set-up and receiving fees published.
Local rails and speed2/5
SEPA receipt published; instant receipt not published.
3/5
Domestic receipt in nine currencies; instant rails not named.
Regulatory standing5/5
Own e-money licence with register number and named safeguarding banks.
4/5
FCA reference and security audits published; safeguarding terms not on the pages read.
Integration5/5
API, sandbox, no-code screens and a stated launch time.
3/5
API and self-serve sign-up; sandbox and go-live time not published on the pages read.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactSwanWise Business
Currencies and marketsEuro accounts with IBANs starting FR, DE, ES, NL and IT; services across the EEA."Account details for receiving in 22 currencies"; hold over 50 currencies.
Account ownership"All accounts come with an IBAN"; virtual IBANs listed; accounts opened for the client's users.Account details issued to the business; naming and virtual accounts for end customers not described on the pages read.
Pricing"Starting from 2990€/m" for Swan on demand; no set-up fees; sandbox free.Set-up "All in for 31 USD"; domestic (non-SWIFT) receipt in AUD, CAD, EUR, GBP, HUF, NZD, PHP, SGD and USD free; USD wire and SWIFT 6.11 USD, GBP SWIFT 2.16 GBP, EUR SWIFT 2.39 EUR per payment.
Local railsSEPA transfers and SEPA Direct Debit; SEPA Instant not mentioned.Not listed in this index
Regulatory standingElectronic money institution authorised by the ACPR, REGAFI 86245; client funds safeguarded at BNP Paribas and Natixis."authorised by the Financial Conduct Authority under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011, Firm Reference 900507"; US money transmitter; "SOC 1 type 2, SOC 2 type 2, PCI DSS and ISO 27001 certified".
IntegrationSandbox with API explorer and event simulator; no-code white-label screens; "launch in weeks, not months".Wise API; self-serve sign-up with a one-off fee.
Local rails and speedNot listed in this indexDomestic receipt in nine currencies; payouts "more than 50%* arrive within one hour".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by Swan: account ownership, local rails and speed and integration.

Not published or not stated by Wise Business: account ownership, local rails and speed, regulatory standing and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: swan.io/pricing, swan.io/use-cases/fintech, swan.io/faq; and wise.com/pricing/business, wise.com/payouts.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

Swan
Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for integration 2026
Wise Business
Leader 2026Top rated for currencies and markets 2026Top rated for published pricing 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

Swan suits

European platforms issuing euro accounts with local IBANs to their customers.

  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own e-money licence with register number and named safeguarding banks.
  • Integration (5/5). API, sandbox, no-code screens and a stated launch time.

Swan full profile

Wise Business suits

Small and mid-sized businesses collecting from customers abroad.

  • Currencies and markets (5/5). 22 receiving currencies published.
  • Published pricing (5/5). Set-up and receiving fees published.

Wise Business full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.