How we work with clientsStart your applicationClient login
Home › Buckingham Intelligence › Comparisons › ClearBank vs Swan
Comparison · 2026 edition

ClearBank vs Swan: virtual accounts compared 2026.

ClearBank and Swan side by side in the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index 2026: scores, evidence, published facts and awards.

Research by Buckingham Intelligence, the research unit of Buckingham Capital Consulting · Facts read 26 October 2026 · Dated copies of source pages kept · Method
3.3 / 5ClearBank
2.8 / 5Swan
ClearBankHigher overall
6Criteria compared

Short answer.

In the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index, ClearBank scores higher overall: 3.3 out of 5 (66 out of 100) against 2.8 (56), ranking 4 and 5 of 10. ClearBank also scores higher in every segment.

Scores side by side.

Overall and segment scores out of 100, and the score out of 5.

ScoreClearBankSwan
Score out of 53.32.8
Score out of 1006656
Overall rank4 of 105 of 10
For payment and e-money firms (out of 100)76, rank 366, rank 6
For marketplaces and platforms (out of 100)67, rank 458, rank 5
For businesses collecting from abroad (out of 100)55, rank 445, rank 8
TypeUK clearing bank with virtual IBANsEuro accounts and virtual IBANs under a French e-money licence

Criterion by criterion.

Each score with the evidence behind it.

CriterionClearBankSwan
Currencies and markets3/5
12 currencies on one IBAN published, UK only.
1/5
Euro only, with IBANs from five countries.
Account ownership5/5
Virtual IBANs, virtual safeguarding accounts and physical accounts with own sort codes published.
4/5
Accounts with IBANs for the client's users and virtual IBANs published; naming of each account not stated.
Published pricing0/5
Not published on the pages read.
1/5
Only a "starting from" plan price published.
Local rails and speed3/5
Direct UK payment systems published; EU instant receipt not described.
2/5
SEPA receipt published; instant receipt not published.
Regulatory standing5/5
Own UK banking licence with FRN, FSCS terms and a safeguarding letter.
5/5
Own e-money licence with register number and named safeguarding banks.
Integration4/5
API, sandbox and a stated integration time; self-serve sign-up not offered.
5/5
API, sandbox, no-code screens and a stated launch time.

Each criterion is scored 0 to 5 against the best published offer in the Virtual Accounts and IBANs Index. 0 means not offered or not published. How it is scored

Published facts.

What each provider publishes on its own pages, read on 26 October 2026.

FactClearBankSwan
Currencies and marketsMulti-currency IBAN in GBP plus 11 currencies (USD, EUR, CAD, CHF, DKK, NOK, SEK, PLN, CZK, HUF, RON); multi-currency accounts listed as UK only.Euro accounts with IBANs starting FR, DE, ES, NL and IT; services across the EEA.
Account ownership"Allocate up to 6 million virtual IBANs from a single parent account"; up to 6 million virtual customer segregated or client money accounts; agency banking "Physical accounts, each with their own sort code"."All accounts come with an IBAN"; virtual IBANs listed; accounts opened for the client's users.
PricingNot published on the pages read; "no minimum volume requirements"."Starting from 2990€/m" for Swan on demand; no set-up fees; sandbox free.
Local railsDirect connection to Faster Payments, Bacs (including Direct Debit) and CHAPS; EUR held at the European Central Bank.SEPA transfers and SEPA Direct Debit; SEPA Instant not mentioned.
Regulatory standingClearBank Limited authorised by the PRA, FRN 754568; FSCS "up to £120,000 per depositor"; ClearBank Europe N.V. authorised by the ECB and regulated by De Nederlandsche Bank; FCA-compliant safeguarding letter available.Electronic money institution authorised by the ACPR, REGAFI 86245; client funds safeguarded at BNP Paribas and Natixis.
IntegrationAPI; sandbox; "Average API integration takes 30 to 45 days".Sandbox with API explorer and event simulator; no-code white-label screens; "launch in weeks, not months".
Date read26 October 202626 October 2026

Not published or not stated by ClearBank: pricing and local rails and speed.

Not published or not stated by Swan: account ownership, local rails and speed and integration.

Facts read on 26 October 2026 from: clear.bank/products/accounts, clear.bank/faqs/accounts-and-agency-banking, clear.bank/products/multi-currency-and-fx, clear.bank/solutions/embedded-banking; and swan.io/pricing, swan.io/use-cases/fintech, swan.io/faq.

Awards 2026.

Awards follow from the published scores and cannot be bought.

ClearBank
Top rated for account ownership 2026Top rated for regulatory standing 2026
Swan
Top rated for regulatory standing 2026Top rated for integration 2026

Who each suits.

From each provider's strongest criteria and published terms.

ClearBank suits

UK payment and e-money firms needing safeguarding and virtual accounts at a bank.

  • Account ownership (5/5). Virtual IBANs, virtual safeguarding accounts and physical accounts with own sort codes published.
  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own UK banking licence with FRN, FSCS terms and a safeguarding letter.

ClearBank full profile

Swan suits

European platforms issuing euro accounts with local IBANs to their customers.

  • Regulatory standing (5/5). Own e-money licence with register number and named safeguarding banks.
  • Integration (5/5). API, sandbox, no-code screens and a stated launch time.

Swan full profile

Speak to an expert.

Tell us what you need and where you operate.