WhatsApp and Telegram +44 7563 115980
[email protected]

Who processes online card payments for UK businesses, what each one publishes and who quotes instead. Fees read 27 October 2026 from each company's own pages.
Published online rates from the major processors serving UK businesses, plus the quoted rates that only come on request. You see them side by side, on your own sales.
The short answer
The main online credit card processing companies serving UK businesses include Stripe, PayPal and Braintree, Adyen, Checkout.com, Worldpay, Square, SumUp, Mollie, Airwallex, Viva.com, Shopify Payments, takepayments and Elavon. Published UK card rates run from 1.20% + 20p (Mollie) to 2.9% + 30p (PayPal standard); Worldpay, Checkout.com, takepayments and Elavon quote individually. Prices read 27 October 2026.
Published prices read on 27 October 2026 from each provider's own pricing page. Quote only or not published means the provider gives rates on request; we obtain those for you.
| Provider | Standard UK card rate | European and international cards | Monthly fee | Payouts | Contract |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mollie Source | 1.20% + 20p UK consumer cards | 2.90% + 20p European and UK commercial; 3.25% + 20p other | £0 | 5 free a month, then 25p each | No lock-in |
| Airwallex Source | 1.30% + 20p UK cards | 2.40% + 20p EEA; 3.15% + 20p international | £0 or £19 (waived over £10k) | Not on pricing page | Not stated |
| Square Online Source | 1.4% + 25p UK cards | 2.5% + 25p non-UK cards | £0, or Plus from £29 | Next day; instant 1.95% | Not stated |
| Stripe Source | 1.5% + 20p standard UK cards; 2.8% + 20p premium UK cards | 2.5% + 20p EEA; 3.15% + 20p international; +2% if converted | £0 | Standard free; instant 1% (min 40p); first payout 7 to 14 days | Pay as you go |
| PayPal Braintree Source | 1.9% + 20p; Amex 2.4% + 20p | +1% for non-UK cards | Not published | Not published | Not stated |
| Shopify Payments Source | 2% + 25p on Basic; 1.3% + 25p on Plus | 3.1% + 25p on Basic | Plan from £25 (£19 paid yearly) | Not on pricing page | Monthly or yearly plan |
| SumUp Online Source | 2.5% online payments | 2.5% (not split out) | £0, or Payments Plus £19 | Next day by 7am to SumUp account | None stated |
| Viva.com Online Source | 2.19% + 24p UK consumer cards | 2.06% + 24p plus interchange and scheme fees | Not published for online | Not published | Not published |
| PayPal Source | 2.9% + 30p standard; 1.2% + 30p for advanced card payments | +1.29% EEA, +1.99% other markets | £0; £20 for Website Payments Pro | Free withdrawal to bank | Not stated |
| Adyen Source | £0.11 + interchange++ + 0.60% | Same structure; interchange is higher | £0, no setup fee | Flexible, you choose | Not stated |
| Paddle Source | 5% + 50¢ (merchant of record) | 5% + 50¢ | £0 | Not on pricing page | No lock-in |
| Checkout.com Source | Quote only (interchange++) | Quote only | No setup or account fees | Not published | Not published |
| Worldpay Source | Indicative quote, e.g. 1% debit, 1.8% credit + 4.5p | Quote only | £5 PCI fee; £15 minimum monthly charge | 24 hours | Not shown in tool |
| takepayments Online Source | Quote only | Quote only | Not published | Next working day (may differ online) | Not published |
| Elavon Online Source | Quote only | Quote only | Not published | Not published | Not published |
Rates are for online card payments taken by UK businesses, before VAT where the provider states it. Premium, business and non-UK cards usually cost more. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
Tell us about your business. We compare the whole market, including the processors that only quote on request, and come back with the lowest total cost for your online sales and the right set-up. You keep a named account manager after setup.
Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
All-in-one payment providers sign you up online, at a published rate, under their own arrangements with the card schemes. Stripe, Square, SumUp, Mollie, Airwallex, Viva.com and PayPal work this way. They suit most small and growing businesses.
Acquirers hold your merchant account directly and quote each business. Worldpay, Elavon and Checkout.com work this way, and takepayments arranges acquiring through a bank it nominates or through Worldpay Ecommerce. They suit established businesses with steady volume.
Interchange plus plus processors, such as Adyen and Checkout.com, pass on the card costs at cost and add a stated margin. They suit larger businesses and those selling in several countries.
Platform processors, such as Shopify Payments, are built into your shop software. Merchant of record services, such as Paddle, sell to your customers on your behalf and handle tax and chargebacks, at a higher price.
Online rates for standard UK consumer cards, read 27 October 2026 from each company's own pricing page. Premium, business and non-UK cards cost more at most of these companies, so check the full price list for your card mix:
Worldpay gives an indicative quote through its online tool. Read 27 October 2026 for a retailer with £60,000 a year in card sales and a £40 average sale, it showed 1% for personal debit, 1.8% for personal credit and 2.9% for business cards online, plus 4.5p per authorisation, a £5 monthly PCI DSS fee and a £15 minimum monthly service charge. At £250,000 a year, the rates fell to 0.8%, 1.4% and 2.5%.
Checkout.com says it prices on interchange plus plus with no setup or account maintenance fees, and quotes each business. takepayments asks you to request prices or apply directly with Worldpay Ecommerce. Elavon quotes through its online form.
Trust Payments, Paysafe and Nuvei do not publish card rates. Each publishes pages for sectors that many banks avoid, such as gaming and travel, and quotes individually.
Quoted rates can be lower than published ones, but only if you compare them on the same card mix and include every fee.
The headline rate is the number every company advertises, but your bill and your experience depend on much more than that. Compare total cost and service:
Take a business selling £50,000 a month online in 1,000 payments of £50, all on standard UK consumer cards. On published rates read 27 October 2026, Mollie costs £800 a month, Airwallex £850, Stripe £950 and Square Online £950. PayPal Braintree costs £1,150, SumUp and Shopify Payments on Basic £1,250 each, Viva.com £1,335 and PayPal's standard rate £1,750.
Adyen comes to £110 in processing fees, £300 margin and about £100 in interchange on UK consumer debit cards: about £510 a month plus scheme fees.
At this size, custom pricing is available from most of these companies. Stripe offers custom packages for large volumes, Mollie offers volume pricing including IC++ above £50,000 a month, and Braintree offers discounts and interchange plus pricing above £50,000 a month. A quote negotiated on your card mix can beat the published rate.
We compare the whole online payments market for you, including the processors that only quote on request, such as Worldpay, Checkout.com, takepayments and Elavon. We look at your real card mix, average sale and the countries you sell to, and work out the total monthly cost with each one, including monthly charges, dispute fees and payout costs, not just the headline rate.
We then negotiate the rate and terms, handle the application and the switch from your current processor, and give you a named account manager who stays with you after you go live and reviews your costs as your sales grow. Our service is free to you. We may receive a fee from the provider you choose; it never changes the price you pay.
For online payments, the best-known companies serving UK businesses include Stripe, PayPal and Braintree, Adyen, Checkout.com, Worldpay, Square, SumUp, Mollie, Airwallex, Viva.com, Shopify Payments, takepayments and Elavon. Some publish rates and others quote each business.
On published online rates for UK consumer cards read 27 October 2026, Mollie is lowest at 1.20% + 20p, then Airwallex at 1.30% + 20p and Square Online at 1.4% + 25p. Adyen's interchange plus plus pricing is often lower for larger volumes.
For most small businesses, an all-in-one provider with no monthly fee and a published rate is simplest, such as Mollie, Stripe or Square Online. If your average sale is under about £15, SumUp's 2.5% with no fixed fee can cost less.
Many do not. Stripe, Mollie, Square Online's free plan, SumUp pay-as-you-go and Adyen publish no monthly fee. Airwallex charges £19 unless you deposit or hold £10,000. Worldpay's tool shows a £5 PCI DSS fee and £15 minimum monthly charge.
Compare the total monthly cost on your own card mix, not the headline rate. Include fixed fees, monthly charges and dispute fees, and check payout timing, contract terms and whether the company accepts your sector. We do this for you across the whole market.
Tell us what you need and where you operate.